SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2461 (Toddler's Dresses)

5 more reviews
Viewed 131 times 
Reviewed by:rmusic1
photo

 
 
About rmusic1star
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 7/3/10
Reviews written: 95
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 80
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/10/14 1:18 PM
Last Updated:5/18/14 5:56 PM
Project Photo:Simplicity: 2461 by rmusic1

Simplicity: 2461 by rmusic1  Simplicity: 2461 by rmusic1  
Pattern Photo:Simplicity 2461
Simplicity Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Toddlers    
Available for sale on PR: $13.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton  [See other projects in this fabric]
This dress has a secret mission. It is for a little girl who I like to sew for. At the tender age of 2 years old she has decided she is not keen on dresses. I found this news very sad (help, there goes so many sewing opportunities!!).

This project is an attempt to win her back. How could you not love butterfly pockets? it's even in her favourite colour: pink. Wish me success fellow sewers, my future sewing plans depend on this dress winning her heart!

Pattern Description:

Toddler's dress, pinafore and shorts sewing patterns. Easy To Sew Collection.

I made view B (dress) and the pinafore.

Pattern Sizing:

6 months to 4 years. I made size 3.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Yes, with a few changes.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

I changed a number of elements in the construction of this dress, so didn't follow all of the instructions. There are pretty good guidelines on what to do, but I missed some of the fine details I have seen in other patterns. For example to get the collar to lay flat you normally under stitch or top stitch. This was missing.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

Very cute vintage pattern whilst also being a very practical little dress for an active age group. Easy to sew, also very little fitting concerns apart from length as it's only really fitted out the shoulders and upper chest.

It's easy to have some fun with colour blocking as well.

Fabric Used:

Cotton, with some reused old (assumed cotton) curtain material for the pinafore.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

I wanted this to be a versatile dress so decided to make it reversible. I created a duplicate dress, where one side becomes the lining. I replaced the zip with poppers (like you have on a duvet cover) and created a 5mm seam to catch on side in. I then slip stitched the other side of poppers down. You can't see it from the right side.

Shortened the hem width (6cm!! really? this is huge on a little dress) to 4cm. Created a 1cm difference between the two skirt hems so the white layer peaks out behind the other for one view.

For the butterfly pockets on the pinafore I thought the decoration suggestion could look tacky and too heavy for the fabric. It suggested decorative braid. I used stay tape to create the body of the butterfly instead. Lovely and easy to sew with!

Changed the back of the pinafore by removing the curve from the back pieces. She's apparently not keen on any of the disney dresses her mum has bought her.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

Yes, I think it might - if the recipient likes the style. I would certainly recommend it. If you didn't add the changes I made it would be quite quick to sew.

Conclusion:

Very pretty dress for the summer. I like the vintage touches of the peter pan collar.

Edited to add update: she likes it! very happy to report it is apparently a hit. Also thought it would be nice to show a picture of her wearing it. Who wouldn't want to sew lots of dresses for this adorable set of blond curls?
Available for sale on PR: $13.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Adaire said...
Beautiful! Surely she will love it! (AND wear it!)
5/10/14 6:19 PM
Christas said...
How could she not love this pretty dress?!!! I hope it makes her love dresses again. It makes me wish my girls could be little again and that I could sew them sweet dresses like this one.
5/10/14 6:52 PM
atymonw said...
I love the butterfly pockets! The window for wearing such adorable dresses is very short -- I wish little girls could appreciate it for a little longer than they usually do;)
5/10/14 7:54 PM
supizoo said...
Beautiful; she will surely love it! If she is a stubborn pants wearer, perhaps you could sew a pretty little pair of shorty shorts to wear under the dress?
5/10/14 9:17 PM
KamiSue2 said...
Very cute! I just made this too and added under stitching at the collar. Smart of you to remember to add that in your review.
5/11/14 0:14 AM
Pj3g said...
I love it! Hope she does too! Fingers crossed that she does!
5/11/14 8:23 AM
supizoo said...
Thanks for the update! Happiness all round :)
5/18/14 6:35 PM
Pj3g said...
I see your update too -- she's adorable! Glad to know you can keep sewing girly dresses!
5/18/14 11:04 PM
Barbara V said...
So absolutely sweet and adorable (both dress and two yr. old!. I'm so glad you have a convert!!! Your many changes are very clever!
5/19/14 9:36 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

Buy Now