SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8997 (Misses' Dress)

5 more reviews
Viewed 775 times 
Reviewed by:Dellia45
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Dellia45star
SC United States
Member since: 2/6/13
Reviews written: 56
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 16 people
patterns reviewed: 54
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/13/14 1:00 AM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 8997 by Dellia45

Vogue Patterns: 8997 by Dellia45  
Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 8997
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info

More Info provided by Dellia45

Pattern Rating:Great Wardrobe Builder
Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag: 8997  
Pattern Description: Misses dress with skirt, sleeve, and enhanced size options

Pattern Sizing: 14-22

Did it look like the photo on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes

What did you like about the pattern? I liked the construction. The lines for the dress were clean and very flattering.

Pattern alterations you made: I added 3" to the bottom and 1" to the hips then kept the same line down to the hemline.

Will you sew it again? Yes. I want to make this one for my oldest daughter, but keep it with the pattern hemline.

Would you recommend this pattern to others? Yes.

Conclusion: I think this is a good pattern for a nice sleeveless dress. There are other options for this pattern and I think any of the other options would make up nicely. I used a silky polyester weave, I think that this dress with the wide skirt would be good in a linen (suggested fabric) and the tropical would go better with the straight skirt. It would totally be up to the design style of the sewer. I used a polyester lining which kept the skirt in a light state, but that might would be different fora dress made out of linen. The V that's in the back was at strap level and very appropriate. The V in in the front was a good height and appropriate as well. There weren't any alterations to either of them as I had anticipated having to make an alteration to one of them. I actually like this pattern, but would not suggest it to a new beginner. It is perfect for a more advanced beginner or higher level sewist.
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
41 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewWil said...
Very pretty dress!
5/13/14 1:25 AM
material excess said...
It looks divine on you. Great choice of pattern and fabric!
5/13/14 1:26 AM
stitchywitch said...
Beautiful on you - thanks for the review!
5/13/14 2:15 AM
RobbieK said...
Beautiful! You look like summer at the beach!
5/13/14 7:23 AM
the_caroler said...
Thank you for the review! This pattern is next in my queue, and I've been putting it off, but no more. Your dress looks fabulous!
5/13/14 7:27 AM
caper81 said...
Beautiful dress! I can appreciate "the appropriateness" of the V-neck depth (not too plunging). The fabric is perfect for summer! I love that this dress has pockets!:)
5/13/14 7:48 AM
marec said...
What a lovely dress. I am looking forward to sewing this pattern, and even more so after seeing your review.
5/13/14 8:32 AM
Lauradublin said...
Looks great!
5/13/14 9:04 AM
CathrynR said...
So pretty. Wonderful for summer.
5/13/14 12:33 PM
missyyz said...
Bold AND beautiful !!!
5/13/14 2:01 PM
canei said...
Pretty!
5/13/14 2:34 PM
mchinadoll said...
So very Lovely.
5/13/14 3:56 PM
sewtofit said...
Great looking dress...I love colorful dresses.
5/13/14 4:20 PM
Cuffs said...
That is so gorgeous! And might I say that your pose shows off the dress so perfectly. Beautiful!
5/13/14 4:36 PM
tlc246 said...
You look so elegant. I love this dress. It's very FLOTUS.
5/13/14 6:14 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
The ultimate feminine summer dress! Thanks for a wonderfully helpful review. This is another one that's been patiently waiting its turn in my que!
5/13/14 7:40 PM
VeraD said...
Beautiful job and a beautiful dress.
5/13/14 9:13 PM
Sue Parrott said...
So pretty! Where did you get your lovely fabric?
5/13/14 9:15 PM
Margie T said...
Very pretty dress. Your mother looks lovely in it.
5/14/14 1:08 AM
Schnauzer said...
Beautiful dress!
5/14/14 4:01 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Pretty dress!!!
5/14/14 5:15 AM
Danmar said...
You look amazing in your pretty dress!
5/14/14 8:19 AM
DorothyK said...
Very pretty. You look wonderful in this dress.
5/14/14 11:04 AM
Wianno Girl said...
So pretty - the dress is summer itself! agree with checking appropriateness of Vneck - sometimes its too much of a good thing ;-)
5/14/14 11:40 AM
prttynpnk said...
Gorgeous work!
5/14/14 1:44 PM
Laury S said...
That print is beautiful. You look sensational in it!
5/14/14 4:23 PM
Oh2Sew2 said...
Very beautiful dress! It flatters you very nicely too...such a bonus!
5/14/14 6:36 PM
Christas said...
So pretty! I love your fabric choice for the pattern. It fits you perfectly. Thanks so much for your review. I bought this pattern at the last sale. Nice sewing!
5/15/14 8:22 AM
McCallPatternCo said...
Soooo pretty! Great job.
5/15/14 4:36 PM
lmb09 said...
Very Pretty! I am planning to sew this dress and was so glad to see your review!
5/15/14 7:57 PM
MaryMacTree said...
FAB! You look Beautiful and the Dress WOW
5/15/14 10:21 PM
Annette1 said...
You are PRETTY AS A PICTURE in this fabulous dress! :o)
5/16/14 0:28 AM
LM2HYD said...
Beautiful dress!
5/19/14 7:57 AM
staymay said...
Very feminine! Love it.
5/22/14 2:36 PM
FARQUHAR said...
This looks beautiful on you!
5/29/14 11:19 PM
MrsCharisma said...
AMAZING!
5/31/14 7:59 PM
marthalamb said...
Beautiful dress! Your comments are helpful.
5/31/14 10:10 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Beautiful dress.
6/5/14 9:05 PM
Dellia45 said...
Thank you.
6/18/14 8:14 PM
MelColorado said...
Thanks for the great review -- I love the look of this pattern and now Im ready to use it !!
8/31/14 5:28 PM
MelColorado said...
Very nice -- I am getting ready to make 4 of these for bridesmaids !! Thanks for the review -- Did you add 3 inches to view B (shorter dress) or C -- I love the lines and the cup size adjustments
9/20/14 9:31 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2009-107

photo
by: wendlesue

Review
Petite Plus 502 Pattern

Petite Plus 502 Pattern

Buy Now
Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Marfy 2762

photo
by: Re Becca

Review