SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4549 (Tiered skirt)

Viewed 1270 times 
Reviewed by:Patti B
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Patti Bstarstarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 9/29/02
Reviews written: 164
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 71 people
patterns reviewed: 137
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/30/05 12:09 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sew2little said...
I've seen Patti in this skirt in person--and the photos don't really do justice to how cute she looks in it! Who would think that an extra easy Simplicity pattern would yield such great results?
6/30/05 12:36 PM
sherri2sew said...
You and me, too, Patti! How do these kids put up with their clothes almost falling off?? It distracts me to have something rest way below my waist. Thanks lots for the review - very helpful. I just got this pattern for DD1 and was hoping it was actually like the picture and rested on the hips. Both my DDs think wearing skirts at the waist is so "old lady". But I'm like you, if it's not at my waist it drives me crazy because I keep pulling it up (I don't like the feeling that my skirt is falling down!).
6/30/05 12:49 PM
sherri2sew said...

6/30/05 12:52 PM
NancyDaQ said...
Patti, very cute! I have this pattern too and perhaps I can get to it this weekend. I have a hint to pass on relating to yokes--I learned this when I was making the Lotus Skirt from the Sewing workshop. Didn't want to miss with a $10 pattern. Trace off and make a mock up off the yoke in each size that might fit (yes including a zipper!). Try on until you get the right fit, then cut the rest of the pattern from that. My hips are located high on my bod, so the correct size in a yoke is always a bit "iffy"--but taking the time to fit the yoke really works well.
6/30/05 1:03 PM
Patti B said...
Nanflan, that's a great idea for the next yoked skirt. I've been using the soil separator paper for my 'muslins' -- anyone else do this? sew2little, thanks, girl -- it'll be nice when my photographer comes home; maybe I'll have better photos?
6/30/05 2:28 PM
Hilary said...
Your skirt is cute! So summery, and the colors are pretty. Thanks for the tips!
6/30/05 3:07 PM
bunz said...
Your SWAP is happening FAST! Congrats. Is the yoke cut on the straignt grain? I need a yoke for my skirts, too.
6/30/05 4:09 PM
Patti B said...
bunz, the yoke has the straight grain in the CF and CB. It's a nice pattern and easy-peasy.
6/30/05 4:18 PM
Mirza said...
Thank you so much for reviewing this pattern. I have it in my stash and am looking forward to making. Great idea from nanflan about the yoke!!!
6/30/05 4:34 PM
AnneM said...
I've been seeing a number of these. My 1st yoke (which I just made) proves to me that they aren't as easy as they look!
6/30/05 6:20 PM
Sew Jane said...
Your skirt is great! Thanks for the thoughtful review. I have this pattern waiting in the stash too!
6/30/05 8:04 PM
jlg said...
Very cute, summery skirt.
7/1/05 5:15 AM
CarolynGM said...
Very cute skirt. I agree that these yokes are somewhat challenging to fit. I always seem to have to go down a size to keep the skirt from falling off. The cardigan and skirt look great together.
7/1/05 6:24 AM
MaryBeth said...
Another winner, Patti B. The color scheme and styles for your mini-swap are so clever!
7/1/05 7:15 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

The Whimsy Bag

The Whimsy Bag

Buy Now
Chelsea

Chelsea

Buy Now