SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8987 (Top)

7 more reviews
Viewed 1431 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 386 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/29/05 1:50 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Needs More Info by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Deepika said...
wow.. finally a review of this pattern with a photo and that too such a lovely one. As always great review Ann! Question - if I stabilize the back neck slit right after cutting out the pattern pieces, do you think it will be ok?
6/29/05 2:05 PM
Ann Smith said...
It will definitely help. You may also want to shorten the length of the opening because the weight of the fabric pulls it open.
6/29/05 2:10 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Your top is very flattering. I will have to dig this one out of the collection.
6/29/05 4:43 PM
Motorposus said...
I got a linen top similar to this at Banana Republic a few years ago, and have always wished I had another. Thanks for bringing this one to my attention. You look fabulous!
6/29/05 4:52 PM
cindyann said...
Oh Ann, thanks for this review. I love this style of top and your's is fabulous.
6/29/05 4:54 PM
hongkongshopper said...
I love the fit of the top - very flattering! The whole outfit looks great on you!
6/29/05 5:22 PM
Schnauzer said...
Ann,your top looks really lovely on you!
6/29/05 5:50 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
That is a beautiful top. I love the linen on the bias. -Ann
6/29/05 6:33 PM
MaryBeth said...
I appreciate your review of this pattern. Beautiful top, Ann.
6/29/05 6:56 PM
Kathryn said...
Wow, Ann, pairing this top with your Sewing Workshop culottes makes a perfect outfit. Thanks so much for the review. I have this pattern, but have never made it up. You may just have set me going to make one, finally.
6/29/05 11:24 PM
purpleseamstress said...
Looks great on you and very classy.
6/29/05 11:45 PM
sewsue said...
Lovely top, Ann. I have made this pattern up and was most disappointed wiht the back neck opening which on my top sits out from my body really noticeably. I haven't worn it because of that. Thanks for the advice about interfacing it, I would like to try the pattern again and this tip will be helpful.
6/30/05 0:33 AM
tigger said...
Again great review - love the top.
6/30/05 1:38 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Glad to read this review. I have had this pattern forever and didn't even realize it is on the bias. Thanks for helpful info regarding back opening. I avoid bias a lot but perhaps time to take the plunge with all the helpful info from PR. :-)
6/30/05 6:07 AM
lilhoney57 said...
Very nice!
6/30/05 7:16 AM
AnneM said...
Very nice; I really like it on you. Makes me look twice at this pattern.
6/30/05 7:51 AM
sherri2sew said...
Nice looking top. The review was very helpful. I bought this pattern for the same reasons you did but hadn't made it yet. Seeing it made up and on a real person helps. Thanks for the warning about the bias opening in the back.
6/30/05 2:02 PM
Teri said...
Ann, thanks for the back slit tip. I made this top also, and like sewsue, I had trouble with the back and have not worn it. But I like the design so much, and it takes such little fabric that I might try it again.
6/30/05 2:06 PM
flowermama said...
I really love your top and your whole outfit! this pattern is going on my wishlist. Thanks for the warning about the back neckline.
7/1/05 1:39 AM
Athene said...
Very nice little summer top. Thank you for the tip on the back opening. Here it is 2009 - I think this top is timeless.
4/10/09 7:24 PM
JeanieC911 said...
What type of fabric did you use? Is this a good pattern for cotton blends?
6/22/09 1:18 PM
Ann Smith said...
JeanieC911, I used mid-weight linen but I think cotton or other similar fabric would work nicely. Ann
6/27/09 0:10 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

McCall's 8574

photo
by: Trinity.

Review
Fusible Interfacing DVD

Fusible Interfacing DVD

Buy Now
Sew Chic Knapsack Pattern (ln100)

Sew Chic Knapsack Pattern (ln100)

Buy Now