SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8997 (Misses' Dress)

6 more reviews
Viewed 658 times 
Reviewed by:jlg
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About jlgstarstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/03
Reviews written: 189
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 156 people
patterns reviewed: 172
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/15/14 9:30 PM
Last Updated:6/15/14 9:35 PM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 8997 by jlg

Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 8997
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 Pattern Details
Fabric:Cotton-Lycra Woven  [See other projects in this fabric]
This is a pattern for lined dresses with princess seams, close-fitting bodices, raised waists, stitched hems, back zippers, and unlined sleeve variations. I made view B, the sleeveless version with the shorter, full skirt. It is one of Vogue Patterns' Custom Fit patterns with A,B,C and D cups.
Recommended fabrics are linen blends, crepe, tropical wool, and broadcloth. I used a floral cotton-lycra woven from Sawyer Brook. I lined it with a cotton lawn from Farmhouse Fabrics.
I made the dress in a size 10 which is my usual size in the Big 4 with an A cup. I took in some at the princess seams of the bodice which I always have to do, even with patterns with A cups (I just have to take in less with such patterns).
I didn't used the instructions, but they looked fine.
I made my dress by sewing the bodice first. I sewed the princess seams on the front and back, topstitched them, sewed the side seams and then sewed the front center front seam. I stay stitched the neckline and armholes and turned them under and clipped them. I sewed the skirt by sewing the front seam, side front seams, side back seams and side seams. I sewed the back seam up to the slit for the zipper. I hemmed the skirt by overstitching the edge and turning it up 5/8 inch and topstitching. I then sewed the bodice to the skirt by turning up the bodice along the seam line and basting it to the seamline of the waist of the skirt and then edge stitching it in place so that I could match up the seam lines easier. I then put in the zipper by hand with a pick stitch and sewed in a hook and eye at the top of the zipper.
I then made the skirt lining, hemmed it and sewed it to the skirt seam allowance with a running stitch. I then made the bodice lining and hand sewed it to the bodice at the neck, armholes and zipper, turning under the waist at the seam line and fell stitching it to the skirt lining. I then understitched by hand along the neck and armholes.
I really like this pattern and expect that I will make it many times. I like the depth of the neckline, front and back, I like that my bra straps don't show and I like how comfortable it is. The raised waist with full skirt is very forgiving and easy.
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Leora said...
Lovely!
9/12/14 6:14 PM
whatlarks said...
Thinking of making this dress myself so it is helpful to see how it turned out, which is Absolutely Beautiful!
8/16/14 0:25 AM
Roary said...
I love your fabric choice and it all came together beautifully on you.
6/29/14 10:07 AM
sewquester said...
Beautiful neckline and fabric looks like great choice for summer.
6/25/14 3:19 AM
jlg said...
The bodice has a center front and 2 front princess seams as well as the side seams and the 2 back princess seams to line up with those on the skirt. I can line up those seams much easier by hand.
6/19/14 5:35 AM
wzrdreams said...
Why did you choose to sew the bodice pieces to the skirt in this manner?
6/18/14 10:07 AM
AuntieShel said...
Just beautiful!!
6/16/14 10:45 PM
lmb09 said...
LOVE!!! I am preparing to make this dress so was happy to read about your process, Thanks!
6/16/14 7:25 PM
McCallPatternCo said...
Our pattern look FANTASTIC on you! Well done.
6/16/14 3:23 PM
the_caroler said...
Your dress looks fantastic!
6/16/14 2:13 PM
Patti B said...
What a happy dress! Perfect for hot weather. Thanks for noting your sewing order of construction -- always helpful.
6/16/14 9:47 AM
cocosloft said...
So pretty and summert!
6/16/14 8:03 AM
Squidgeebabe said...
Gorgeous! I must make this one
6/16/14 5:08 AM
PriorPatterns said...
Great job and thank you for the indepth construction notes.
6/16/14 0:26 AM
EleanorSews said...
Lovely interpretation of this pattern. Your fabric is perfect! The fit is wonderful. Your order of construction makes sense...I made this dress (review was on hold) and can see how your construction plan could simplify things.
6/16/14 0:17 AM
beanchor said...
This is so lovely. I love your print can you make the construction sound so easy.
6/15/14 10:07 PM
Gilberta said...
Love it on you!
6/15/14 10:02 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Love, love! Fit and fabric are both perfect. Thanks so much for including all the helpful construction order information. I definitely plan on giving this pattern a try.
6/15/14 9:52 PM
SewWil said...
Beautiful dress!!!
6/15/14 9:48 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Newport Tote

Newport Tote

More Info
Bluegingerdoll The Betsy Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Betsy Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

More Info
New Look 6735

photo
by: knitsewmuc...

Review

Pattern