SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 03-2005-122 (Jacket)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1571 times 
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 186
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 273 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/1/05 11:04 AM
Last Updated:7/2/05 10:52 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
45 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dreamdesigner said...
I really like this jacket. The fabric is very intriguing.
7/15/06 1:40 AM
PatCat said...
Just beautiful!
7/1/06 4:45 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Such a pretty summer jacket--I admire you for tackling WOF and a jacket when you have the workload of an attorney!
7/1/06 11:59 AM
yummymummy38 said...
Impressive job, beautiful fabric and finish.
6/5/06 10:27 AM
Sew it seams said...
What a gorgeous jacket. You did a beautiful job matching the prints. Really great job.
7/26/05 4:36 PM
mustsew said...
You did a fantastic job matching the design in the fabric! The jacket looks great.
7/3/05 6:44 PM
blue mooney said...
Your jacket looks even more attractive than the ones in the mag. Beautiful fabric! I loved the collar on these jackets. Thanks for the review.
7/3/05 7:12 AM
Liana said...
I think it's all been said already, but, just gorgeous!!
7/3/05 0:24 AM
inkyannie said...
Wow, what a wonderful job! It is just gorgeous.
7/2/05 11:23 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Wow! Lovely jacket. Everything matches up so well. Excellent job.
7/2/05 8:35 PM
MarionP said...
Very impressive!! Nicely done!!
7/2/05 7:46 PM
hongkongshopper said...
I am in love with your jacket! The fabric is so cool! The placement of the motifs on the back is beautifully done.
7/2/05 6:01 PM
Vibek said...
Absolutely lovely looking jacket. I can't see the CB seam - pattern placements looks totally flawless as do all the other difficult bits.
7/2/05 2:47 PM
Stacy Sews said...
Beautiful jacket - so much better than the model's in the magazine. Makes me want to put this on my (long) list of things to make! Thanks for the review!
7/2/05 2:32 PM
MaryBeth said...
Seriously beautiful fabric turned into a seriously beautiful jacket. I love your work and your reviews. Thanks soooo much!
7/2/05 12:43 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Your jacket is wonderful. The construction and the fabric make it a great example of design and workmanship.
7/2/05 12:31 PM
Gigi Louis said...
What a gorgeous jacket! Yours is ever so much more inspiring than the WOF version.
7/2/05 11:24 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Beautiful jacket. A great match of simple lines with a very cool patterned fabric.
7/2/05 11:08 AM
KarmenG said...
Kay - Beautiful jacket; this pattern has a lot of appeal and you showcased it beautifully. Gotta love a gorgeous sleeve cap and yours look great. Can you get a close up photo of the pocket? I'd love to see that too. Thank you for the detailed and helpful review.
7/2/05 10:26 AM
SueV said...
VERY nice; I'll have to dig out my issue! Thanks
7/2/05 10:05 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Darn, I didn't get my hands on this issue of Burda. But the April issue has a jacket with a similar collar/lapel that I've been admiring. Your jacket is fantastic - and I want one, too.
7/2/05 9:41 AM
Kathryn said...
Kay, the work(woman)ship on this wonderful jacket is one of the reasons why you are listed as one of my "favorite reviewers". Taking this busy fabric and crafting it into a trendy jacket is perfect. Thank you so much for the great review.
7/2/05 7:44 AM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Wow! I love your fabric and how you matched the pattern so carefully. Your version looks so much better than the magazine's!
7/2/05 5:22 AM
sherri2sew said...
Fabulous jacket! Maybe WOF is worth getting. What is the size range on this jacket? I really like the collar.
7/2/05 2:37 AM
Sew4Fun said...
WOW! What a gorgeous and beautifully tailored jacket! Your pattern matching is supreme!
7/2/05 2:19 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
Kay, your jacket is marvelous, it was one of the few things that really got my attn. in that particular issue, your choice of fabric was very good, also the fabric pattern and color are exellent, congrat's!! If you are planning on making this for winterwear you might like to consider using haircanvas on the collar, part of the front and back to give it a more "stand up look" but I guess you've alrady thought about this.
7/2/05 0:48 AM
jlg said...
Very, very nice. It looks beautifully done.
7/1/05 7:12 PM
Becky Coleman said...
Thank you for reviewing this pattern. It was my favorite in that issue, and you have done an outstanding job with your jacket. Becky, Minnesota
7/1/05 6:18 PM
Jan B. said...
Outstanding. Your skill astonishes.
7/1/05 6:03 PM
CarolynGM said...
The jacket has such a graceful shape and is so impeccably tailored. The matching is so good, that try as I may, I cannot locate the pockets.
7/1/05 5:22 PM
melgosews said...
Simply gorgeous! I had my eye on the green jacket design in 4/05 and at first glance thought this was it. I looked this one up and didn't have any scribbled remarks, well I do now! Kay, they don't have anything on your jacket, My head is spinning with fabric ideas. I want something luxurious too and it really works with this simplistic style. Thanks for the heads up on the stretch and fit.
7/1/05 5:21 PM
Mlle Laura said...
Lovely jacket and a great choice of fabric!
7/1/05 4:31 PM
cindyann said...
It's beautiful! You did a lovely job.
7/1/05 3:57 PM
Lisette said...
Your jacket is wonderful, I loved this design the moment I saw it.
7/1/05 3:36 PM
Geordie Girl said...
What a gorgeouse jacket. Thanks for a really good review
7/1/05 2:55 PM
mudcat said...
The fabric is gorgeous thus making a wonderfully unqiue looking jacket.
7/1/05 2:28 PM
SewVeryTall said...
Outstanding! Great fabric, too.
7/1/05 2:14 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
BRAVO!!! Such a gorgeous garment. Love the fabric and really like the different collar treatment on it!
7/1/05 1:37 PM
Johsews said...
Great job! I love your fabric. I have started cutting out a lot of things one layer at a time- find I get much better results so it's worth the extra time.
7/1/05 1:34 PM
e_e_thomas said...
Beautifully tailored!
7/1/05 1:17 PM
Tiner W said...
How pretty! Your fabric is gorgeous!
7/1/05 12:42 PM
Ann Smith said...
Really beautiful. The pattern matching really looks great.
7/1/05 11:54 AM
Patti B said...
Wow, what a gorgeous jacket! Love the fabric and your careful matching. I have stayed away from WOF jackets because of all the 'dots.' Yours is much lovelier than the original.
7/1/05 11:39 AM
Rebecca D said...
What a gorgeous jacket. Your work is beautiful. This review is extremely helpful.
7/1/05 11:36 AM
SandraB said...
YOur jacket turned out really nicely and I love your choice of fabric.
7/1/05 11:34 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Butterick 4609

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Claire Handbag

Claire Handbag

More Info
Summer Tote

Summer Tote

More Info