SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> By Hand London> Charlotte Skirt (Charlotte Skirt)

3 more reviews
Viewed 162 times 
Reviewed by:Margaret_Jane
photo

 
 
About Margaret_Jane
CA USA
Member since: 9/13/07
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Advanced
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/20/14 6:31 PM
Last Updated:5/20/14 6:38 PM
Project Photo:By Hand London: Charlotte Skirt by Margaret_Jane

By Hand London: Charlotte Skirt by Margaret_Jane  By Hand London: Charlotte Skirt by Margaret_Jane  
Pattern Photo:

Buy Pattern
By Hand London Charlotte Skirt
By Hand London Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Great Wardrobe Builder
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $23.39 Pattern Details
Pattern Description: A high waisted pencil skirt with peplum and hem ruffle variations. This skirt has been designed with an hourglass figure in mind, allowing a generous amount of ease at the hips.

I made the simplest version since the design of my skirt was pretty busy (for me) already!

Pattern Sizing: I cut a US 12 and graded to an 8 in the waist

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes! I admit I was not extremely careful when I cut it and did not realize until sewing that there could be an awkward fan placement happening. Thankfully that was not the case. ...For the most part.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I liked the fit! As a shorter person who prefers longer length skirts this was the perfect length.

Fabric Used: If the fabric looks familiar, it is because it is forn a very pretty skirt from Bettie Page/Tatyana! I bought it on a whim when I fell in love with the design and colors, but fuller skirts are not my thing. I disassembled it, hoping I would find a good use for it one day.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: Graded to a US 8 from a US 12 at the waist. I also made a swayback adjustment and used the waistband of the disassembled skirt, which turned out to be half an inch too big for where I wanted it to sit.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes!

more pictures here!
Available for sale on PR: $23.39 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Margaret_Jane said...
Oh my gosh... thanks everyone!
5/22/14 0:44 AM
Sewingmi said...
Awesome way to re-purpose a skirt! I love the fabric and the skirt looks really nice!
5/21/14 6:44 PM
MissyBelle said...
You wear it very well. Glad those fans didn't end up in the wrong place!!
5/21/14 4:38 PM
StephiLuna said...
It looks fantastic! love the fabric choice.
5/21/14 10:56 AM
BiKe said...
beautiful fabric pattern
5/21/14 1:16 AM
SecondHandRogue said...
Beautiful!
5/20/14 9:08 PM
meadowclark said...
What a great skirt! Love the fabric.
5/20/14 8:14 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Vogue Patterns 2987

photo
by: PattyE

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2010-115

photo
by: yoshimi

Review
The Whimsy Bag

The Whimsy Bag

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern

Buy Now