SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2900 (yet another blue dress)

17 more reviews
Viewed 261 times 
Reviewed by:lamstu
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About lamstustarstar
CHINA
Member since: 8/17/04
Reviews written: 83
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 30 people
patterns reviewed: 81
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/19/14 10:06 PM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 2900 by lamstu

Vogue Patterns: 2900 by lamstu  Vogue Patterns: 2900 by lamstu  
Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 2900
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 Pattern Details
Fabric:Silk  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: "MISSES'/MISSES' PETITE DRESS: Dresses A, B have bodice with angled seams, yoke and side front pockets, invisible zipper closing. A: edgestitch finishing. B: ribbon trim finishing. A, B: flared skirt with narrow hem." I made view B, without the ribbon trim.

Pattern Sizing:12-14-16 in my envelope. Size 12 at neck/shoulders, FBA, size 14 for bodice side seams and all the rest.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Reasonably so, considering how much shorter I am than the model and the mistake in the bodice length.

Were the instructions easy to follow? I found it a little confusing to locate the information for view B. But it does all seem to be there. The printing on my pattern tissue was very faint.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I like the split neckline and the flared skirt (love to ride my bike, you know). Lots of seams make for easier fitting, but I didn't need them as this model fit quite well after the FBA. There are a few "wrinkles" here and there, that suggest further fitting could be done, but some of them are due to the bias cut of the dress.

Fabric Used: Lightweight semi-sheer silk/cotton heavily embroidered with same-color daisies. The embroidery lent enough structure to make it suitable for the style. Lined with cotton/silk voile; I would normally use something more silk and less cotton, but the somewhat stiffer hand of the chosen fabric helps the main fabric to hold the style. Thin linen scrap used to "interface" the inner pocket where it meets the skirt. Linen/tencel scrap used to stabilize the neck edge.

I cut all the pieces on the bias, and carefully matched the embroidery across all the seams. On the bodice princess line seams, the motifs were matched at the shoulder and continued as far down as possible. I am very pleased with how that worked out and you can see it quite well in the back view photo.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
Alterations:
FBA using seam line method.
Made the bodice shorter by folding out 1 inch in length on the marked PETITE lines. This made the dress too short, in that the waist now falls in the middle of the yoke rather than in the bodice section. The dress fits, and looks ok anyway. It is surprising though because I always make this modification - either the dress is designed for a somewhat short-waisted figure or the waist line is mismarked. Tall people, be aware!
Added 2 inches to the length of the skirt, at the hem line.

Design change: added full lining due to sheerness of the main fabric. I sewed the bodice and its lining RS together at neck edge, then turned right side out and topstitched. The bodice unit was sandwiched between the yoke and yoke lining, leaving the lining unattached from the side back dot to center back. The skirt and its lining were each sewn leaving the CB seam open for the zipper, then laid WS together and sewn to the yoke. The yoke facing was hand sewn on the inside to cover the seam. The skirt and lining were hemmed separately. I left the armhole finishing to the end, in case I wanted to change the shape or coverage, but I kept them as drafted and used the binding piece supplied in the pattern to finish the edge.

Since I did not add the ribbon trim, I top-stitched the seam lines to emphasize them and encourage everybody to stay in proper place.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I like this dress, being my favorite color ;) of course! I do recommend this pattern. It was easy sewing, albeit a lot of it and the result is a polished garment.

Conclusion: A very ladylike summer dress. The daisies are a bit girly for me, but hey why not? I need yellow shoes now.
I have worn the dress with heels for a formal event and with ballet flats for everyday. It's a bit dressy for that, but I feel so happy when I wear it!!
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Barbara V said...
I can see why it is your favorite color....It is a beautiful color on you. Lovely fabric, style and fit. Super job for great result.
10/25/14 4:25 PM
sewdogsew said...
Great job!
10/21/14 11:46 AM
Klarisabet said...
That fabric is beautiful. I can just picture the yellow shoes :-)
10/20/14 1:48 PM
prttynpnk said...
Aw, been waffling over this pattern- you've made me decide- its a must do now! Beautiful!
10/20/14 10:56 AM
Vancouvergirl said...
I absolutely love it! Awesome fabric choice, too.
10/20/14 9:47 AM
krafts said...
This is so pretty. You did such a nice job with the fit and fabric. I'm guessing that you bought the fabric in China. Love it!
10/20/14 9:29 AM
cindyann said...
It's lovely!
10/20/14 8:43 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Jalie 2920

photo
by: Lucy in Vi...

Review

Pattern

Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Victory Simone Paper Pattern

More Info
Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

More Info