SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 1872 (Misses' Dresses)

19 more reviews
Viewed 168 times 
Reviewed by:baguette
photo

 
 
About baguette
Member since: 4/15/14
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Beginner
patterns reviewed: 1
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/21/14 9:28 PM
Last Updated:5/21/14 9:31 PM
Project Photo:Simplicity: 1872 by baguette

Simplicity: 1872 by baguette  Simplicity: 1872 by baguette  
Pattern Photo:Simplicity 1872
Simplicity Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Recommend, with Modifications
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Accessories    Tops    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Gauze  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: Cynthia Rowley

Pattern Sizing: I made 6 view B

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? yes thought I only followed some of instructions

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I like the three tiers skirt. It's very feminine.
The loose fit bodice and wide shoulder make my upper body look very boxy (I modified the bodice, detailed below). The gaping in the front.
Fabric Used: cotton gauze in peach. cotton in baby blue for bias and strap.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
Bodice modification to get close fit: add darts in front and back pieces, narrowed the shoulder strap by removing 1 inch from the V-neckline, take in both front and back bodice by 1 inch, shortened the bodice by 1" to meet my waistline and added side zipper
Skirt modification: thank you for other reviewer's comments regarding the skirt length. I added 1" in the lower and middle tier of skirt.

I also used a contrast color- blue color in bias, zipper, and strap to spice up the dress a bit. I really like how it turned out
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I probably will sew it again because I really love the skirt. The bodice and skirt are all too loose. If I sew it again, I will take middle and bottom tier of skirt by 2" and I will definitely use different bodice pattern to get better fit. Also, I would interface the area where I put the zipper to increase the stability. I didn't do so this time. Even though I have underlined the bodice with muslin, I still feel like I will tear apart the fabric every time I pull the zipper.
Conclusion:
I recommend this pattern with a good amount of modification.
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Terri A said...
Cute! When you make it again with all the changes you plan you will probably just love your result. The colors are soooo pretty in the combination you chose.
5/21/14 10:05 PM
Sewiing Sue said...
I have a ready made tiered dress and know how flattering such dresses are. Your version is very sweet.
5/21/14 10:48 PM
Nessa09 said...
Nice!
5/21/14 11:54 PM
portercs said...
So pretty! Great job.
5/22/14 9:10 AM
Pj3g said...
Very pretty and feminine!
5/22/14 10:26 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Butterick 5676

photo
by: velosewer

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 234865-1005

photo
by: pegsewer

Review
DVD - Will this fabric work for you?

DVD - Will this fabric work for you?

Buy Now
Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King

Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now