SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 3403 (Maternity Top Dress Pants)

Viewed 1028 times 
Reviewed by:michellerene
photo

 
 
About michellerenestar
WA USA
Member since: 6/11/05
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/1/05 6:24 PM
Last Updated:7/1/05 6:24 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Muria said...
Both of your projects from this pattern look great! The cargo pockets are very cute. However, you might want to be careful what you wear over those shorts. With a bright turquoise panel, it could be visible with, say, a white cotton shirt. Thanks for reviewing this. I looked at this pattern, but decided to try a different one. Still working on exactly what I'm going to do with that one... :)
7/7/05 3:42 PM
inkyannie said...
It really turned out cute! You look very nice in it. This is one pattern I will not add to my wish list as I am a grandma and have no need for this type of top!!
7/2/05 10:45 PM
purpleseamstress said...
What a headache! But, in the end, it looks mighty cute on you.
7/2/05 3:24 PM
jacalhoun said...
I've been following your embellishments thread for this pattern. When I saw you had a review, I figured that's what the pattern was. I looked at the picture and thought, "Oh, I guess she decided to do something else first." This looks nothing like the front of the pattern. It's SO much cuter! I don't blame you for being annoyed with it though. I hate when patterns disappoint us so much. You did a great job fixing it up though!
7/2/05 11:23 AM
Debbie Cook said...
I looked at your pic before reading the review and was suprised that you would NOT recommend since it looks so cute on you. But, I understand the rating now because of all you had to do to modify the pattern. But since you did such an excellent job, you definitely should make it at least one more time (after cooling off!) -- it looks great! I like the button placket you added too -- nice touch.
7/2/05 10:47 AM
sherri2sew said...
Top looks really good. I like the idea of giving the pattern a "time-out". When you have so much trouble with something, you don't want to see it for a while. But the end result is a very nice looking top, so you might want to do again, after you've forgiven the pattern!
7/2/05 0:57 AM
michellerene said...
Ah... you gals are so nice! I looked in my trusty sewing book, and -- doh! -- there's a whole section on mitering bias tape around corners! Guess I should slow down & check the book next time!
7/1/05 10:16 PM
betta1 said...
Whoops - posted twice - I'll try to remove it.
7/1/05 8:58 PM
betta1 said...
It look s-o-o-o cute! Great fit, and you fixed the dart! Sometimes I give a new pattern a "timeout" in the pattern box for a couple of weeks until I stop being disappointed with it for not being what I imagined it was going to be (run on sentence!) - it looks great; love the trim.
7/1/05 8:57 PM
Tiner W said...
It looks very nice on you--who would have guessed at all the trouble you had?
7/1/05 7:14 PM
Cambric Tea said...
You look cute! VERY good fit. Don't do it again if you don't want to. I only sewed one maternity pattern, it was a burda, with cute darts at the side of the abdomen, so that the whole dress skirt wouldn't be so voluminous, just the baby portion. Cute idea, cute dress cute pattern. I HATED IT. Mostly I wore regular patterns altered for maternity. The Burda tee 3197, and a New Look pattern with knit palazzo pants, a tee a skirt and a cardigan 6126 maybe. Also lots of white cotton mens dress shirts. Congratulations to you! How exciting! (:
7/1/05 6:54 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2011-124

photo
by: ClioBklyn

Review
You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

More Info
TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

More Info