Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 3403 (Maternity Top Dress Pants) - Type:Maternity    printable version
Viewed 1028 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:michellerene
photo
About michellerenestar
WA USA
Member since: 6/11/05
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/1/05 6:24 PM
Last Updated:7/1/05 6:24 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Cambric Tea said...
You look cute! VERY good fit. Don't do it again if you don't want to. I only sewed one maternity pattern, it was a burda, with cute darts at the side of the abdomen, so that the whole dress skirt wouldn't be so voluminous, just the baby portion. Cute idea, cute dress cute pattern. I HATED IT. Mostly I wore regular patterns altered for maternity. The Burda tee 3197, and a New Look pattern with knit palazzo pants, a tee a skirt and a cardigan 6126 maybe. Also lots of white cotton mens dress shirts. Congratulations to you! How exciting! (:
7/1/05 6:54 PM
Tiner W said...
It looks very nice on you--who would have guessed at all the trouble you had?
7/1/05 7:14 PM
betta1 said...
It look s-o-o-o cute! Great fit, and you fixed the dart! Sometimes I give a new pattern a "timeout" in the pattern box for a couple of weeks until I stop being disappointed with it for not being what I imagined it was going to be (run on sentence!) - it looks great; love the trim.
7/1/05 8:57 PM
betta1 said...
Whoops - posted twice - I'll try to remove it.
7/1/05 8:58 PM
michellerene said...
Ah... you gals are so nice! I looked in my trusty sewing book, and -- doh! -- there's a whole section on mitering bias tape around corners! Guess I should slow down & check the book next time!
7/1/05 10:16 PM
sherri2sew said...
Top looks really good. I like the idea of giving the pattern a "time-out". When you have so much trouble with something, you don't want to see it for a while. But the end result is a very nice looking top, so you might want to do again, after you've forgiven the pattern!
7/2/05 0:57 AM
Debbie Cook said...
I looked at your pic before reading the review and was suprised that you would NOT recommend since it looks so cute on you. But, I understand the rating now because of all you had to do to modify the pattern. But since you did such an excellent job, you definitely should make it at least one more time (after cooling off!) -- it looks great! I like the button placket you added too -- nice touch.
7/2/05 10:47 AM
jacalhoun said...
I've been following your embellishments thread for this pattern. When I saw you had a review, I figured that's what the pattern was. I looked at the picture and thought, "Oh, I guess she decided to do something else first." This looks nothing like the front of the pattern. It's SO much cuter! I don't blame you for being annoyed with it though. I hate when patterns disappoint us so much. You did a great job fixing it up though!
7/2/05 11:23 AM
purpleseamstress said...
What a headache! But, in the end, it looks mighty cute on you.
7/2/05 3:24 PM
inkyannie said...
It really turned out cute! You look very nice in it. This is one pattern I will not add to my wish list as I am a grandma and have no need for this type of top!!
7/2/05 10:45 PM
Muria said...
Both of your projects from this pattern look great! The cargo pockets are very cute. However, you might want to be careful what you wear over those shorts. With a bright turquoise panel, it could be visible with, say, a white cotton shirt. Thanks for reviewing this. I looked at this pattern, but decided to try a different one. Still working on exactly what I'm going to do with that one... :)
7/7/05 3:42 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $29.00)
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Christine Jonson 1025
photo
Review by shopgirl on 11/25/09
Read Review

Vogue 8721 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG )
Vogue 8721 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6009 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 6009 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used 1108
photo
Review by ChristineB... on 11/6/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Lil-Long Johns Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Lil-Long Johns Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Sunday Brunch Jacket + A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver + S Sunday Brunch Jacket + A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King
THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby More Blankie Buddies pattern Pattern
SewBaby More Blankie Buddies pattern Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us