SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4444 

19 more reviews
Viewed 121 times 
Reviewed by:jadesabre9
photo

 
 
About jadesabre9star
SC USA
Member since: 10/23/11
Reviews written: 21
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 21
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/27/14 7:43 AM
Project Photo:McCall's: 4444 by jadesabre9

McCall's: 4444 by jadesabre9  McCall's: 4444 by jadesabre9  
Pattern Photo:McCall's 4444
McCall's Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Recommend, with Modifications
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Rayon Poly Woven  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Laura Ashley halter dress pattern with contrast straps. Available in several lengths. I made View B.

Pattern Sizing:
14-16-18-20. I cut the 18 I believe.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
There was no numbering in the pattern instructions, and the Spanish was interspersed with the English which made it a bit hard to locate the next steps. But none of them were mind-numbingly confusing, like some patterns I have seen. I did not understand why the pattern wanted the center loop on the top to be one of the last steps.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
The central gathering and loop was the most frustrating part of this for me.
Very bulky area with the loop. Gathering threads didn't work so well. I would recommend gathering the front and lining pieces prior to stitching them together, which is not the order the instructions suggest.

Fabric Used:
Not really certain. A silky, satiny polyester rayon blend would be my guess, based on how much it frayed. It was turquoise and brown, looks like space, and even had some sparkly crystals for stars

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I modified the center front loop area - doubled the size of the loop, and then made adjustments for fit. I believe I added darts to the bust as well.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I might sew this again actually. It fits really nicely, so I definitely recommend it!

Conclusion:
I love how this turned out, and even though the fabric was a bit annoying to sew with, it's soooo pretty! Totally worth it

For more information and more detailed write up, please visit my blog:
Quests of Quirkiness
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew Good said...
Pretty! Nice work
5/27/14 9:44 AM
Quickie said...
After struggling you ended with a good dress. I love your fabric
5/27/14 10:01 AM
canei said...
Nice!
5/27/14 10:46 AM
MrsCharisma said...
Cute!
5/27/14 11:32 AM
hopflower said...
Very good fit and nice fabric.
5/27/14 11:41 AM
prttynpnk said...
You frisky babe, this is gorgeous on you!
5/27/14 12:16 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Indygo Junction IJ874

photo
by: susandf

Review
SewBaby Fleece-Easy Hats Pattern

SewBaby Fleece-Easy Hats Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Helix Tee and Pants

Sewing Workshop Helix Tee and Pants

Buy Now