SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5303 (New York Dress)

12 more reviews
Viewed 2247 times 
Reviewed by:Mini
photo

 
 
About Ministarstarstarstar
WI USA
Member since: 3/21/02
Reviews written: 115
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 57
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/22/02 6:42 PM
Last Updated:6/20/03 9:06 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Thank you for your informational (and often humorous!) review. I bought this pattern a few weeks ago and it's nice to know what to look out for when I get to it.
8/22/02 7:14 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks again, Mini. You are very thorough in your review and fitting and sewing techniques--a model for me. I made the short version in a black knit and liked it, but I am waiting for the perfect rayon to come along for the longer version. The longer version looks just like a recommended shape for my "Picasso" body in The Fine Art of Dressing. Have you spotted any internet sources that might have the ideal fabric (preferably black)? (By the way, I've never been able to open the photo of the cardigan review.)
8/22/02 7:44 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
o my goodness, what an excellent review! thanks for all the important details, mini. this will definitely help me if i decide to make this pattern.
8/22/02 8:00 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Cynthia, I think Batik Butik has solid black rayon. I don't know what 's wrong with the cardigan photo-I will try to fix it.
8/22/02 8:04 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Hi Mini, I am getting ready to sew the shorter version of this dress tomorrow so I had to check your review first. Very helpful! thanks for the reminder that I will need to measure the pattern carefully.
9/22/02 2:28 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Debspuncturedthumb said...
Mini, Wow, what a great review and so helpful! Perfect for an early Intermediate like me! I know what it's like to pick stuff that isn't quite right for me too but sometimes the patterns look just too darn appealing! For the sake of investigation I clicked through to Loes' site to view the dresses here: http://www.loeshinsedesign.com/pages/nydress.html and already I can see where the 'bugs' would be for me especially in the bust area with this pattern, that model is typically small busted and lean and there are many patterns I have not bought because it's just too obvious my shape would not contribute to the desired effect-you know those Geoffrey Beene suits in Vogue for example? Well, there's one with pockets on the chest that would simply be ridiculous for me and the rest of us full busted ladies I've been tempted to get the darn pattern and enlarge it so there's more 'hang' to try to create an illusion of less bust and you just know I'd end up with a baggy suit jacket top for the efforts! The length of View B would be fairly figure forgiving imho-my main figure problems are being topheavy with larger shoulders too so I could see making this one up with similar adjustments and in a darker fabric. I think you might be able to enjoy this dress this way so maybe the detail involving the belt is not noticeable? Anyway, maybe a good alternative would be a looser fitting top with a slit skirt, at least you could 'borrow' the neckline and the style of the slit skirt to get a similar effect-'just my 2 cents for what it's worth LOL!
6/21/03 0:00 AM
LizGo said...
An excellent and very informative review - as usual, Mini! Thank you!
8/17/05 5:34 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2009-127

photo
by: Maree P

Review
Simplicity 3790

photo
by: Doobee64

Review
Beginner Sewing Lab 101 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 101  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

Buy Now