Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Loes Hinse Designs: 5303 (New York Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 2246 times 12 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:Mini
photo
About Ministarstarstarstar
WI USA
Member since: 3/21/02
Reviews written: 115
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 57
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/22/02 6:42 PM
Last Updated:6/20/03 9:06 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Thank you for your informational (and often humorous!) review. I bought this pattern a few weeks ago and it's nice to know what to look out for when I get to it.
8/22/02 7:14 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks again, Mini. You are very thorough in your review and fitting and sewing techniques--a model for me. I made the short version in a black knit and liked it, but I am waiting for the perfect rayon to come along for the longer version. The longer version looks just like a recommended shape for my "Picasso" body in The Fine Art of Dressing. Have you spotted any internet sources that might have the ideal fabric (preferably black)? (By the way, I've never been able to open the photo of the cardigan review.)
8/22/02 7:44 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
o my goodness, what an excellent review! thanks for all the important details, mini. this will definitely help me if i decide to make this pattern.
8/22/02 8:00 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Cynthia, I think Batik Butik has solid black rayon. I don't know what 's wrong with the cardigan photo-I will try to fix it.
8/22/02 8:04 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Hi Mini, I am getting ready to sew the shorter version of this dress tomorrow so I had to check your review first. Very helpful! thanks for the reminder that I will need to measure the pattern carefully.
9/22/02 2:28 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Debspuncturedthumb said...
Mini, Wow, what a great review and so helpful! Perfect for an early Intermediate like me! I know what it's like to pick stuff that isn't quite right for me too but sometimes the patterns look just too darn appealing! For the sake of investigation I clicked through to Loes' site to view the dresses here: http://www.loeshinsedesign.com/pages/nydress.html and already I can see where the 'bugs' would be for me especially in the bust area with this pattern, that model is typically small busted and lean and there are many patterns I have not bought because it's just too obvious my shape would not contribute to the desired effect-you know those Geoffrey Beene suits in Vogue for example? Well, there's one with pockets on the chest that would simply be ridiculous for me and the rest of us full busted ladies I've been tempted to get the darn pattern and enlarge it so there's more 'hang' to try to create an illusion of less bust and you just know I'd end up with a baggy suit jacket top for the efforts! The length of View B would be fairly figure forgiving imho-my main figure problems are being topheavy with larger shoulders too so I could see making this one up with similar adjustments and in a darker fabric. I think you might be able to enjoy this dress this way so maybe the detail involving the belt is not noticeable? Anyway, maybe a good alternative would be a looser fitting top with a slit skirt, at least you could 'borrow' the neckline and the style of the slit skirt to get a similar effect-'just my 2 cents for what it's worth LOL!
6/21/03 0:00 AM
LizGo said...
An excellent and very informative review - as usual, Mini! Thank you!
8/17/05 5:34 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Sis Boom Ethan Shirt Ethan Shirt
photo
Review by terra123 on 12/10/13
Read Review

Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)
Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern
Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lazy Days Skirt (FREE!)
Lazy Days Skirt (FREE!)

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Garden Party Dress (5-12) Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Garden Party Dress (5-12) Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2451 Misses' Skirts
photo
Review by arcrabtree on 12/16/10
Read Review

Burda 6997 Pattern
Burda 6997 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3476 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3476 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us