SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> StyleArc> Darla Stretch Woven Dress 

4 more reviews
Viewed 280 times 
Reviewed by:dkauf46552
photo

 
 
About dkauf46552star
MA USA
Member since: 8/10/12
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/27/14 9:33 PM
Last Updated:5/28/14 7:08 AM
Project Photo:StyleArc: Darla Stretch Woven Dress by dkauf46552

StyleArc: Darla Stretch Woven Dress by dkauf46552  
Pattern Photo:

More Info provided by dkauf46552

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
Fabric:Polyester Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Stretch woven, multi seamed dress, suitable for color blocking.
Pattern Sizing:
Misses sizes, single size per pattern. I made a 6.
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes, except that I added a sleeve.
Were the instructions easy to follow?
Very

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I like the many seams, the higher neckline, and the fact that it fits!

Fabric Used:
Poly lycra ponte knit. however, this fabric isn't as heavy as many pontes. it's more like a beefy knit. Not too heavy, not too light.
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
Based on other reviews, I lowered the waist by about an inch since I tend to be long waisted. I also tightened up the armhole since several reviewers commented that it was too large. I also added a sleeve since I really didn't want a sleeveless dress for this one, which required some fiddling with the facings. Since I was looking for something more conservative, I made this one all one color.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?Absolutely! I recently purchased a wide leopard belt which goes with nothing in my closed, so I will need to make a dress for it (!) - I have some purchased some heavier ponte cuts in black and ivory for another version. I haven't decided if it will be with or with out sleeves yet.

Conclusion:
This was my first attempt at a Stylearc pattern and am truly impressed. Their patterns really do fit and are not so difficult to construct. Even with the extended delivery time from Australia, it was worth the wait.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lmb09 said...
Looks great on you! You've inspired me to try styleARC!
5/30/14 6:22 PM
supizoo said...
Beautiful fit, it really looks lovely on you.
5/29/14 4:02 AM
mdetka said...
Looks so good on you! Love the color too!
5/28/14 7:11 PM
Robin Denning said...
lovely dress! I will add that to my wish list.
5/28/14 12:36 PM
dkauf46552 said...
Thanks! And I used a tried and true sleeve from another pattern. This also confirmed that I needed to take in the armholes - and how much!
5/28/14 8:34 AM
margy.64 said...
Very nice dress. Love the addition of the sleeves.
5/28/14 6:36 AM
clothingengineer said...
What a professional dress. I love it with the sleeves! Did you borrow them from another pattern, or did you draft them yourself?
5/27/14 10:58 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Butterick 4985

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

More Info
Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

More Info