SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5925 (Misses Top)

5 more reviews
Viewed 262 times 
Reviewed by:Jan Crews
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Jan Crewsstar
OH United States
Member since: 9/10/02
Reviews written: 27
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/28/14 9:47 AM
Project Photo:Butterick: 5925 by Jan Crews

Butterick: 5925 by Jan Crews  Butterick: 5925 by Jan Crews  
Pattern Photo:Butterick 5925
Butterick Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Rayon Poly Lycra Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: Pullover top has neckline and pocket variations, seam detail, and shaped hemine. A: slightly draped neck and pocket bands. This is my second time with View A. Made a View B in a solid red RPL a year ago and it's my go-to top!

Pattern Sizing: Y(XSmall-Small-Medium), ZZ(Large-XLarge-XXLarge) I'm 5'8" and generously-busted. I cut a Large, adding 2" to the length at the shorten/lengthen lines.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
Love the style. Love the offset neck and pocket binding.

As I mentioned in a previous review, I found the pocket bottom to be challenging. I didn't have enough of the main fabric for both pockets in this version, so just made one. I interfaced the hem of the inset/godet first, then laid the bound pocket on top of the inset, basted the sides, but also basted the bottom of the pocket to the interfaced hem allowance so that the basting would not show. Then I folded and pressed the hem allowance on the inset. I moved to the sewing machine and slipped the presser foot inside the pocket, sewing the inset hem from about 1.5" in from either seam allowance. To clarify: the hem on the pocket/inset is sewn before attaching the inset to the front and back side seams, but I've left enough free so that I can sew those seams.

After inserting the inset and sewing the side seams, I [double-needle] sewed the hem from the edge of the pocket/inset around the back, the other inset, and the front, ending a half-inch into the pocket/inset. I had about an inch on either side of the pocket that was not hemmed, so just whipped that into place invisibly by hand.

I'm pleased with the result. The pocket bags down a little below the hem, but I didn't have the bunching I experienced with the pocket/inset hem on the previous version.

I haven't checked this theory yet, as I was rushing to leave on a trip, but I believe the pocket should be sized to the inset—should be cut the same width as the inset—not one-size-pocket-for-all-sizes. I suspect the pocket is cut the same size as the XL or XXL.

Fabric Used: A rayon/lycra (maybe rayon/poly/lycra) blend that I picked up in a department store in Frankfurt, Germany, while on tour last year with the Cleveland Orchestra and Chorus. Lovely memories every time I look at this fabric.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: See note above re pocket. Interfaced the back shoulder seam allowance and the hem allowances with a lightweight tricot fusible interfacing. (A trick learned from Marcy Tilton.) Next time I'll trim the pocket to match the inset.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Probably will make one more - in black for performances. Would absolutely recommend! This is a beautiful top!

Conclusion: Make it! Wear it repeatedly!

More verbiage on my blog.
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
hopflower said...
Really it is a very cute top and I bet so versatile. Thanks for the detailed review.
5/28/14 10:26 AM
bakertoo said...
Love your fabric! I am just discovering the Tilton sisters and their patterns, so it is really nice to see the patterns made into garments and see how they look on a real woman. You have made me very interested in this pattern! P.S. Cute cat photos on your blog!!!
5/28/14 11:25 AM
tracyH2 said...
Great top love looks really comfiest to wear. I love the fabric
5/28/14 12:53 PM
McCallPatternCo said...
Well done! Very vibrant top.
5/28/14 1:37 PM
cocosloft said...
Terrific! Love your fabric, this is such a striking top!
5/29/14 7:15 AM
ISewedIt said...
Lovely fabric!
5/30/14 6:08 AM
Jan Crews said...
For those who love the fabric, this is a very similar print. I've used this also and it has a wonderful hand. http://www.marcytilton.com/item.php?pid=13578&cid=903
5/31/14 9:36 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Simplicity 3515

photo
by: HOWsMom

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 12-2011-148

photo
by: MissCelie

Review
Christine Jonson Taper Pant & Wide Leg Pant

Christine Jonson Taper Pant & Wide Leg Pant

Buy Now
9 inch Bent Handle Scissors

9 inch Bent Handle Scissors

Buy Now