SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6846 (Misses' Top, Tunics and Belt)

Viewed 200 times 
Reviewed by:Puddeetat
photo

 
 
About Puddeetat
OK
Member since: 2/2/11
Reviews written: 18
Sewing skills:Advanced
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/29/14 10:49 AM
Last Updated:5/29/14 10:57 AM
Project Photo:McCall's: 6846 by Puddeetat

Pattern Photo:McCall's 6846
McCall's Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton-Poly Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: Misses Top, Tunic and Belt I used View B.

Pattern Sizing: 14-22

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, except it didn't appear so long on the picture.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, with caveat on the sleeves

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? The ease in making a pretty top that is nicer than an ordinary t-shirt.

Fabric Used: Poly Cotton Knit with roses etched in the fabric

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: Since I used a knit, I didn't make the back closure, just made a simple facing. I also didn't roll the edges. I simple folded and did a simple thin hem. I love the tulip style sleeves. The sleeves were difficult, not because of the design, but because my fabric looked the same on both right and wrong sides. The sleeves need to mirror each other. It is important to mark the pieces correctly because the sleeve backs go over the sleeve fronts. I accidentally made two of the same sleeves so had to redo them. Also make sure they are marked correctly otherwise the fold over of the tulip style will not match on each sleeve for symmetry.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Yes, definitely. I am already looking at other fabrics to see how they will work with the "drapey" front.

Conclusion: A great summer top. Don't let the three layer front put you off. It was not difficult at all.

Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
carolynw said...
Oooh - I like this. How have I missed this pattern - must get Asap. Thanks for the review
5/29/14 11:21 AM
BlueSkysAhead said...
Pretty top. Fabric is so feminine. I really like it. 😊
5/29/14 11:22 AM
Erin Sooit said...
Lovely top! I really love the drape. Thank you for the review.
5/29/14 11:31 AM
lauraborealis said...
I missed this pattern, too... thanks for the review. How lightweight was your fabric?
5/29/14 12:10 PM
artysam said...
THAT LOOKS LOVELY, MIGHT NEED TO ADD TO STASH!!!
5/29/14 2:51 PM
sewpelican said...
Wow! Love the look. A skirt in same fabric would make a dressy outfit.
5/30/14 0:18 AM
RoseE said...
I added this to my wishlist, thank you! I live the fabric you chose.
5/30/14 4:18 AM
KarlaB said...
Love this. Another pattern to add to my wishlist! Great choice of fabric. Beautiful top!
5/30/14 12:59 PM
Danmar said...
I love this too!
5/30/14 11:28 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Butterick B5796

photo
by: QuikSew

Review
McCall's 6408

photo
by: Jessamaka

Review
You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Buy Now