SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2975 (MISSES' JACKET, TOP, DRESS, SKIRT AND PANTS)

12 more reviews
Review submitted in Pants Contest 2014 Contest
Viewed 783 times 
Reviewed by:supizoo
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About supizoo
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 1/28/09
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 17 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/8/14 2:46 AM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 2975 by supizoo

Vogue Patterns: 2975 by supizoo  Vogue Patterns: 2975 by supizoo  
Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 2975
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Pants    Skirts    
Current Tags:
Fabric:Linen  [See other projects in this fabric]
Preamble
excuses excuses: even though it doesn't look like it, I promise you I did iron the pants and brush my hair prior to the photo shoot ;)
There are photos scattered throughout the review or you can see all hotos together by clicking on the Flickr set at the bottom of the review.

Pattern Description:
The pattern contains a full wardrobe of wide legged pants, jacket, dress, top and skirt. I am reviewing the pants (kind of a given since they are entered in the Pants Contest!)

Pattern Sizing:
(6, 8, 10) (12, 14, 16) (18, 20, 22)
Corresponding to Hip: 83-122cm (32.5-48")
My measurements make me a 12 in this pattern. The first time I made these pants I cut 10-12 and whilst I thought it was a good fit at the time, they were in fact too big. This time around I cut the 8 and think it is much better.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Between the diagrams and the text, the instructions were pretty good. In a few places (e.g. pocket) I needed the diagram in order to understand the text.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
Like:
1. The wide waistband (referred to as a yoke). It is shaped, both around the waist and over the hips so there is room for adjustments. I think it would be flattering to a variety of body shapes. It is also really comfortable!
Waist yoke on me
Waist yoke on hanger
Back yoke

2. The amount of ease from the pants to the waistband. At first it seams too much (almost gathers) but this ease becomes invisible and makes for a comfy pair of pants.

3. Not the best photo but No gaping when I sit down!

Dislike:
1. The fly doesn't include a zipper guard (for want of a better word) to protect your skin from the zipper. Vogue do refer to this as a 'mock fly' however, after all of the effort of putting the rest of the 'fly' together, it seems strange to omit this part as it leaves the pants looking unfinished. I constructed a zipper guard and inserted it into this pair and feel a lot happier with the look.
2. The pockets as drafted are way too long. They came half way down my thigh. I like a decent sized hanky but that's just silly.

More details/photos in the Alterations section

3. My fault: the pocket gapes a little. On my first pair the pocket was flat as a tack. On this pair, I fiddled with the waist yoke but did not adjust the pocket (rookie mistake!) hence this one does not sit flat.
gaping pocket


Fabric Used:
100% Linen from the Fabric Store (Brisbane Australia).
A great fabric for my 'rumpled' lifestyle.
Relaxed

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
Hold on to your pony tail! I pretty much had a go at everything.
Design changes:
1. Added the zipper guard. This also meant that I left the front extension on the waist yoke (you would cut this off one side if you made the mock fly version).
Fly with zipper guard

2. Bound the edges of the fly with purchased bias binding. This is a first for me and makes things look so much neater.
Binding

3. Reduced the length of the pocket 6-7cm (approx 2-3").
New pocket piece

4. I did not make the cuff. Instead I hand stitched a 3" hem. I do believe I've stopped growing (!) but finding the correct hem length is something I struggle with so I made it long as a safety net.
Slip stitch hem

Personal alterations for fit:
1. Scooped out the back crotch curve 2.5cm (1inch): This was to try to fix the folds of fabric evident on my first pair. I think it worked. Why didn't I take a photo???
2. Scooped out the front crotch 0.75cm: I possible didn't need to but there was a tiny bit of fabric pulling and I was in the mood for scooping since I'd just learnt what it meant and had success with the back!
3. Put a 0.5cm horizontal pleat in the front and back, tapering to 0cm at the side seam. This was to try to fix a droopy centre font and back.
4. Reduced the width of the back leg (evenly between inner and outer seam) about 1cm. This was an experiment to reduce the amount of fabric flapping around in the back thigh area.
5. Reduced the taper on the waist yoke. The yoke is drafted for feminine hips and I am somewhat lacking in that department.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
This is my second time on these pants and I will make them again in white or navy linen. These will be great, summer BBQ pants. Navy would be great for work. I am falling in love with this style!


I do recommend the pattern. It went together well.

Things I learnt:
1. Go with the flow. There is nothing like pants-fitting to make one lose all ego.
2. Be prepared to make several muslins. Doing too much to one muslin creates pattern origami! Hmm, that might be why I didn't take photos of my alterations.
3. I've never understood what people meant by 'scooping out the crotch curve' until this contest, where I was forced (eh hem, encouraged) to investigate.
I was hoping to describe the technique in this review but pictures and video are so much better than the written word.
4. I really need to work on my accessories; belts, shoes, jewellery......!!!

Conclusion:
For me, this style is the perfect BBQ pant for the tropics. Cool, relaxed and airy but still providing coverage from the sun and mozzies. There will be more in my wardrobe.

All of my alterations were experimental so please take my notes with a grain of salt. I purchased Sarah Veblen's video tutorial Fun Fitting Pants (yeah, I think Sarah has a wicked sense of humour). Mistakes in my pants should be attributed to me, not Sarah, as I ran out of time to properly follow her tutorial. I did experiment with some of her tips and look forward to using her tutorial the way it was intended.

Vogue 2975 Flickr album

<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
margy.64 said...
Great looking pants. I love the wide waistband/yoke.
6/8/14 2:56 AM
supizoo said...
Thanks Margy! I usually hate anything fitted up around my waist (too hot) but these are really comfortable.
6/8/14 3:06 AM
acmena said...
Nice pants. A tip that you may want to try (one I've been using since my first pair of Palmer & Pletsch pants) is to use a zip longer than you need. It means that you don't have to sew around the slider, and the zipper stop (and excess) can be cut off once you've sewn on the band. If you cut it off before you attach the band the slider will slide straight off...been there, done that! I think you'll be happy with the result.
6/8/14 3:31 AM
madebyj said...
These look great ~ will have to pop into the Fabric Store and see if any of this fabric is left ... J
6/8/14 5:01 AM
liliv said...
These are very cool, I love the wide legs and the color!
6/8/14 5:53 AM
petro said...
Great looking wide leg pants!
6/8/14 6:06 AM
meadowclark said...
thank you for the detailed review. I was thinking of making wide linen pants!
6/8/14 7:42 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
Looks like you've found your perfect pants pattern. They're elegant and the overall look is totally effortless...which as we all know means there was a ton of effort involved! Thanks for sharing all of your tweaks.
6/8/14 9:12 AM
EleanorSews said...
What a great pair of pants! Love the fit at the waist and hips and the fullness of the leg. Beautiful way to get an airy linen pant. Love, love, love the color! Your review was engaging and quite helpful, nicely written. PS. I also fell in love with the jacket in this pattern...so much so that it is on its way...oops!
6/8/14 9:41 AM
slmstyle said...
These look great! Nice work and thanks for the detailed review!
6/8/14 11:02 AM
ArtAttack said...
Wow! These look dynamite on you! Great pairing of pattern and fabric and you achieved a really great fit...love them!
6/8/14 11:32 AM
dorothyann2 said...
Vice nice. They remind me of a pair of Stella McCartney pants for sale on Net-a-Porter.
6/8/14 12:20 PM
Sew Good said...
Excellent work! I love linen and all of its wrinkles;)
6/8/14 12:54 PM
Annette1 said...
What a GREAT review! I know it took a lot of time to compose, and I really appreciate it! You couldn't ask for a better fitting pair of pants than these, and they look SO DANG GOOD on you. :o) Of course, it's hard to imagine anything NOT looking good on you -- ha! I've made the jacket with this pattern a couple times, but have never made the pants. I really love that waistband.
6/8/14 11:43 PM
purplebouquet said...
Fabulous pants, fabulous review. Thank you. You look great in those pants. Enjoy them.
6/9/14 1:50 PM
MrsCharisma said...
SUCH nice pants!
6/9/14 6:05 PM
supizoo said...
Thanks for the lovely comments everyone. Now I just have to work on neat finishes. Thanks for the zipper tip acmena, that helps a lot!
6/9/14 8:35 PM
Sharonspils said...
Fantastic looking pants!
6/10/14 1:32 AM
BJ1400 said...
What great pants! Love the color & they look so good on you.
6/10/14 2:54 PM
Baja Susana said...
Great looking pants. Love the color and style.
6/10/14 6:53 PM
Eli cat said...
Very nice!I want to try beautiful pants,great job!
6/11/14 7:40 AM
Dilliander said...
These are magnificent, what a fabulous fit and the style is lovely on you! They look great in the linen.
6/14/14 7:21 PM
PeppermintPam said...
Absolutely wonderful - love everything about them! Thanks for such a helpful review. You put a lot of thought and care into these and it shows. Great job!
6/16/14 9:08 AM
emv1102 said...
These pants are so nice! You did a great job!
6/17/14 10:50 AM
Baja Susana said...
Great fit, nice fabric. I have been working one-on-one with Sarah, and I achieve a near perfect fit. Made the pants, and because of a water disaster at home, missed the deadline to enter. Your pants are winners,
6/18/14 9:01 AM
Mother Thing said...
Wow! These look very comfortable and cool - the perfect pants for summer.
6/19/14 8:45 PM
dkauf46552 said...
Such nice pants and they fit you like a dream! So hard to get pants - custom or store bought - to fit so perfectly!
6/25/14 8:08 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Vogue Patterns 1207

photo
by: ak21

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2009-127

photo
by: Maree P

Review
Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Buy Now