SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6097 (dress)

41 more reviews
Viewed 198 times 
Reviewed by:mnitts
photo

 
 
About mnittsstarstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 10/2/11
Reviews written: 73
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 26 people
patterns reviewed: 73
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2013
Posted on:6/1/14 7:47 AM
Last Updated:6/1/14 7:50 AM
Project Photo:New Look: 6097 by mnitts

New Look: 6097 by mnitts  New Look: 6097 by mnitts  
Pattern Photo:New Look 6097
New Look Pattern Info

More Info provided by mnitts

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Double Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Workroom from Project Runway, misses belted knit dress with neckline and sleeve variations. New Look Just 4 Knits sewing pattern.

I made view A, without the collar, but changed the skirt to a flared one.
Pattern Sizing:
10 - 22
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Probably not, because I swapped the skirt out for a flared skirt from my Lady Skater Pattern.
Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes, although I changed the order of construction somewhat. I set my sleeves in flat and then sewed up the sleeves and bodice sides in one.
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I LOVE the silhouette of this dress, the comfort, fit and how secure I feel in the bodice. It doesn't gape or needed constantly adjusting. I did stabilise the left and right fronts of the bodice using twill tape. Nothing to dislike as such. I didn't think the skirt would be a flattering style for me so changed it. I was in two minds about the sleeves. Next time round I may adjust the length. If I was using a thinner jersey I might size down.
Fabric Used:
A soft double knit fabric.
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I changed the order of construction and inserted the sleeves in flat and then sewed the sleeves and side seams up.

I changed the skirt for a flared one.

I stabilised the left and right front bodice edges using twill tape.

I did a 1 inch sway back adjustment.

I omitted the elastic at the waist.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes, I would love a dark coloured version and a printed one too. Love it! Highly recommend.
Conclusion:
I now see why this pattern was voted at number 5 in the Best Patterns of 2013 on PR.com. It is a great, simple to sew pattern which is flattering, comfortable and a great addition to your stash.
More details and pics on my blog.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
canei said...
Nice, love the color! It looks great on you.
6/1/14 8:02 AM
RenataRath said...
Nice Colour!
6/1/14 8:53 AM
ak21 said...
Very pretty M. Love that you've matched your toes too :-)
6/1/14 9:43 AM
Marge99 said...
This style really suits you. And the pink toes are the perfect finishing touch!
6/1/14 12:53 PM
liliv said...
Wow this is super great, I love the silhouette of it and the color is a killer!
6/1/14 1:46 PM
Sew Good said...
Perfection! You look great :) Nice work
6/1/14 2:26 PM
WinterQueen said...
One of my favourites of your makes. And wow what a colour! :)x
6/1/14 3:59 PM
TJSEWS said...
Gorgeous. What a beautiful vibrant color!
6/1/14 4:11 PM
cleverkitty said...
Absolutely beautiful on you I made this too and don't come close to looking this good :)
6/1/14 8:02 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
You look so great in hot colors like this. Substituting the Lady Skater skirt was a great idea. A real "wow" dress!
6/2/14 7:15 PM
kiddo said...
Love the cerise!!! It so suits you! Love the skirt swap out. Brilliante!!!
6/6/14 1:02 AM
Sheenagh said...
Great job, and I love this colour on you!
6/7/14 4:52 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

StyleArc Holiday Hollie jacket

photo
by: Karen Carr

Review
You Sew Girl Hobo Pattern

You Sew Girl Hobo Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern

Buy Now