SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6097 (dress)

41 more reviews
Viewed 183 times 
Reviewed by:mnitts
photo

 
 
About mnittsstarstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 10/2/11
Reviews written: 68
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 24 people
patterns reviewed: 68
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2013
Posted on:6/1/14 7:47 AM
Last Updated:6/1/14 7:50 AM
Project Photo:New Look: 6097 by mnitts

New Look: 6097 by mnitts  New Look: 6097 by mnitts  
Pattern Photo:New Look 6097
New Look Pattern Info

More Info provided by mnitts

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Double Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Workroom from Project Runway, misses belted knit dress with neckline and sleeve variations. New Look Just 4 Knits sewing pattern.

I made view A, without the collar, but changed the skirt to a flared one.
Pattern Sizing:
10 - 22
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Probably not, because I swapped the skirt out for a flared skirt from my Lady Skater Pattern.
Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes, although I changed the order of construction somewhat. I set my sleeves in flat and then sewed up the sleeves and bodice sides in one.
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I LOVE the silhouette of this dress, the comfort, fit and how secure I feel in the bodice. It doesn't gape or needed constantly adjusting. I did stabilise the left and right fronts of the bodice using twill tape. Nothing to dislike as such. I didn't think the skirt would be a flattering style for me so changed it. I was in two minds about the sleeves. Next time round I may adjust the length. If I was using a thinner jersey I might size down.
Fabric Used:
A soft double knit fabric.
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I changed the order of construction and inserted the sleeves in flat and then sewed the sleeves and side seams up.

I changed the skirt for a flared one.

I stabilised the left and right front bodice edges using twill tape.

I did a 1 inch sway back adjustment.

I omitted the elastic at the waist.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes, I would love a dark coloured version and a printed one too. Love it! Highly recommend.
Conclusion:
I now see why this pattern was voted at number 5 in the Best Patterns of 2013 on PR.com. It is a great, simple to sew pattern which is flattering, comfortable and a great addition to your stash.
More details and pics on my blog.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
canei said...
Nice, love the color! It looks great on you.
6/1/14 8:02 AM
RenataRath said...
Nice Colour!
6/1/14 8:53 AM
ak21 said...
Very pretty M. Love that you've matched your toes too :-)
6/1/14 9:43 AM
Marge99 said...
This style really suits you. And the pink toes are the perfect finishing touch!
6/1/14 12:53 PM
liliv said...
Wow this is super great, I love the silhouette of it and the color is a killer!
6/1/14 1:46 PM
Sew Good said...
Perfection! You look great :) Nice work
6/1/14 2:26 PM
WinterQueen said...
One of my favourites of your makes. And wow what a colour! :)x
6/1/14 3:59 PM
TJSEWS said...
Gorgeous. What a beautiful vibrant color!
6/1/14 4:11 PM
cleverkitty said...
Absolutely beautiful on you I made this too and don't come close to looking this good :)
6/1/14 8:02 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
You look so great in hot colors like this. Substituting the Lady Skater skirt was a great idea. A real "wow" dress!
6/2/14 7:15 PM
kiddo said...
Love the cerise!!! It so suits you! Love the skirt swap out. Brilliante!!!
6/6/14 1:02 AM
Sheenagh said...
Great job, and I love this colour on you!
6/7/14 4:52 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Vogue Patterns 8825

photo
by: MissCelie

Review
Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Buy Now
Christine Jonson BaseWear One - Leggings, Top and Yoga Bodysuit

Christine Jonson BaseWear One - Leggings, Top and Yoga Bodysuit

Buy Now