SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2246 (Misses' & Miss Petite Sportswear)

56 more reviews
Viewed 236 times 
Reviewed by:MyKittyCat
photo

 
 
About MyKittyCatstar
BST United Kingdom
Member since: 4/10/14
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/3/14 10:51 AM
Last Updated:6/3/14 12:13 PM
Project Photo:Simplicity: 2246 by MyKittyCat

Simplicity: 2246 by MyKittyCat  Simplicity: 2246 by MyKittyCat  
Pattern Photo:Simplicity 2246
Simplicity Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 Pattern Details
Fabric:Denim  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Misses' & Miss petite Traveler shirt dresses. Lisette Sew Your Style pattern. I bought the pattern to do view A however after being inspired by some of the other reviews I choose to do a mash up between view A and C

Pattern Sizing:
6-22. I made a 14 top which I lengthened by 2 inches. The skirt I made in a size 6 to make it a more A line shape.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Kind of ish!... I think you can tell it is from the basis of this pattern however I made a number of design changes.

The dress doesn't sit very well on my dress form. As I am 6ft and long in the waist my dress form is like a squashed version of me! Also I realise I could do with a photo buddy to take a picture of me in a finished piece. It is so tricky to not drop a camera whilst trying to hold it not completely in-front of the outfit! About 10th attempt!!!

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes on the whole - I did find that I needed to re-read some areas such as the placket and collar instructions several times as my brain just gives out with the right side, wrong side, upside, backside, inside, outside, front side, elements of pattern speak! Once it does sink in it does seem plainly obvious, however I can feel my brain just imploding trying to marry some of the illustrations with the paragraph of pattern babble next to it! Once you get to grips with the 'speak' and the more techniques you do the more the next pattern begins to make sense. I would class this as a good pattern to follow for a beginner who has made a few basic items already.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
It is a great pattern with a ton of options and easy to do mash ups between the versions with. I like the styling and found it straight forward to make it my own combined version. Shirt dresses are also uber cool lets be honest!

As other reviewers have mentioned the sleeve seems to have a lot of fabric to ease in creating a slightly poofy element. I set the sleeves in flat as another reviewer mentioned and was very careful and took my time making sure I had no puckers or gathers at the top of the arm, however it still wants to look a little gathered on the sleeve tops. I decided to press the seam allowance towards the body and top stitch it in which helped.

The pattern didn't say whether to press the seam allowance towards the sleeve or away, and when I looked on the internet I found some interesting conflicts as to which is the 'right' way. Any thoughts from all you lovely experts here?

Fabric Used:
A lightweight tiny weeny bit stretchy black denim which has a lovely golden back colour/base to it. From Calico in Bristol UK.
The buttons were from Fabricland, proper cast metal and I just fell in love with them. You know how you know straight away that it's coming home with you!

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

1 - Added 2" to the bodice section. One just above the darts (under the sleeve) and the second inch on the alteration line. I originally made a rough calico mock up version and determined I needed 2 more inches on the length, however when I went to adjust the pattern on the adjustment line it just looked too extreme on the grading between the outside pattern lines. It looked like it would have added more bulk to the width of the bodice or I would have needed to put in a kind of curve to meet the points up without changing the width, so I panicked and decided to split the extra between two different areas to create the new extra length. I have no idea if this was the correct thing to do, but I didn't want to change the shape as other than the length the calico fit well. Seemed to have worked out though on the final dress.

2 - Based on the mash up designs of other reviewers, I choose to make the skirt more A line to kind of echo the feel of view A but with the fitted element of view C. I chose to make the skirt a size 6 and I thought I could just trust my measurements of the pattern and go for it but I bottled it as I could only ever in my wildest dreams think I could wear a size 6 in anything! so.... I made a calico mock up of the skirt also! I am so ending up now with the need for a separate wardrobe full of beige calico poorly sewn outfits

3 - I put four box pleats (instead of the gathers) into the skirt at the bodice dart lines. I was rather pleased with myself as I slowly and carefully sewed this up after a very careful pinning section. I was almost feeling pretty smug, then just after finishing and taking my pins out I realised that my skirt section was inside out! I just have no idea how many times I keep doing this on making things. Maybe I should be taking more note of that whole inside, outside, backside, front side thing after all. I do keep telling myself 'right side to right side' then just relax for one brain fade moment and BAM, there is the idiot made it dress again! Thank god for my favourite tool the stitch un-picker!

4 - I put in the buttons where I thought they worked best as I had lengthened the bodice, I spaced them 2 3/4" apart instead so ended up with 12 buttons total. They are bigger than the recommended button size at 20mm but worked out ok on the placket

5 - I took 4" of the skirt length. This made around a 20" skirt length if that's helpful.

6 - I came up with my own pocket design based on the size of the one they provided. It took me a fair chunk of time to make them as I wanted them to be well finished. The top section is two pieces sewn together then flipped out and attached to the bigger pocket piece so it creates an neat inside under the flap. I used a slightly smaller version of the main button to keep the flap shut.

7 - I went top stitching mad everywhere, well it is denim and that seems to be the done thing! Got the top stitch bug now... what can I get my hands on!!

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes I would sew it again and probably try a different take on it. I think I would take a little out of the sleeve tops if I was feeling brave that I knew how and what I was doing!
My objective was to make something to be able to wear rather than hang in the wardrobe for a fancy occasion that I never go to! The dress is very comfortable and is a style I like. I may try making it with a long sleeve and cuff like another reviewer as this seemed a good idea. Also maybe I will have a go with some plaid at some point. Who doesn't love a good plaid!

Conclusion:
This was a dress of firsts for me, first buttonholes, first placket, first time I knew what a placket was!, first collar, first patch pockets. So a very good learning experience for me.
I think it is a good stylish pattern with lots of options if you want to be a little adventurous with it. I would highly recommend making this if you are thinking about it.
Maybe I will have to travel in in as it is called a Traveler dress. Seems like a good excuse for a holiday in my opinion!

I have made a few other things between this and my last review, but as this was fresh off the press this week and I can remember what I did I thought I would review it now. So if my work progress appears to go backwards on my next review then I haven't necessarily got worse, just technically better the wrong way round!

After publishing I realise this is a super long review - sorry for all the waffling!
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Wifey888 said...
Beautiful job!
11/2/14 1:02 AM
MyKittyCat said...
Thank for all your encouraging comments, that is so kind. Thank you Michele for answering the sleeve cap seam question. This helps to make it clearer as to a general rule. :-) Much appreciated. Once again sorry for the long review, I got rather carried away and only realised how long it was when I posted!!!! Note to self, must edit in future!
6/9/14 7:19 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Very attractive and quite flattering to you! I love your dress! In answer to the question of direction of the sleeve cap seam: Usually, a very high, set in sleeve is pressed toward the sleeve. A flat sleeve cap, as in a dropped shoulder, is pressed away from the sleeve. These are generalities, of course.
6/4/14 4:15 PM
cleverkitty said...
Really nice dress expertly done, looks so nice on you, I made view A and love it. Very informative review :)
6/3/14 8:10 PM
PammyJ said...
Wonderful job! Gee, I might have to get this pattern. :)
6/3/14 2:21 PM
MrsCharisma said...
Oh my gosh, this is awesome!!! And such nice work on all those firsts!!
6/3/14 1:43 PM
GoSewGirl said...
I love your super cute version of this dress. Great buttons, too!
6/3/14 12:28 PM
lollypopsmom said...
Love the dress! I have sewn two of these and they are a favorite of mine. Well done.
6/3/14 12:21 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

More Info
Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern

Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern

More Info