SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4176 

20 more reviews
Viewed 66 times 
Reviewed by:CookMJ0531
photo

 
 
About CookMJ0531
NC
Member since: 11/22/13
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Beginner
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/3/14 1:02 PM
Last Updated:6/3/14 1:05 PM
Project Photo:Butterick: 4176 by CookMJ0531

Butterick: 4176 by CookMJ0531  
Pattern Photo:Butterick 4176
Butterick Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Kids(boys & girls)    
Available for sale on PR: $10.95 Pattern Details
Fabric:Cotton  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: Loose-fitting top or dress has front tucks, back button loop closure and stitched hems. A, B: short sleeves with elastic. C, D: sleeveless. A, D: purchased trim. D: appliques. Straight-legged pants or shorts has elastic waist, side seam pockets and stitched hems.

Pattern Sizing: 2, 3, 4, 5 - I sewed a size 3 for my two year old.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes. I sewed Top C and Pants F.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes very. The shirt was complex for me (first time sewing a button thread closure, tucks and using bias tape). But I was able to do it in a day.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I like how quickly it came together. I am a very early beginner and I didn't have to stop to look anything up. That was very helpful for me.

Fabric Used: I used a cotton that I found at the remnant bin at Hancocks for the shirt and pink broadcloth for the pants (purchased during Thanksgiving sales).

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I didn't make any changes.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I am planning to sew this again. Will probably sew it again next year in a bigger size.

Conclusion: This is just a great summer outfit. It came together better than I could have imagined. I am having so much fun sewing for my two year old. Next time I want to challenge myself and sew sleeves.

Available for sale on PR: $10.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Pj3g said...
Totally cute outfit and your little girl too!
6/25/14 5:45 PM
newmama said...
The outfit is adorable, the fabric choice is really cute and she looks like she loves it :) Those curls are pretty fantastic too!
6/5/14 8:37 PM
sewtime said...
So adorable, such a cute outfit!
6/3/14 7:46 PM
Ilonka said...
Sweet!!
6/3/14 3:34 PM
Tonya P said...
What a darling outfit. And that model is just completely adorable! You did great. Love those colors!
6/3/14 2:29 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Other Cinderella-Zwergenmode

photo
by: Sandi S

Review
Ottobre Design Magazine 06-2009-25

photo
by: myraminx

Review
PerfectFuseTailorUltra White

PerfectFuseTailorUltra White

More Info
Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern

Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern

More Info