SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> PatternReview> 100 (Summer Street Dress)

13 more reviews
Viewed 189 times 
Reviewed by:Mmmberry
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Mmmberry
TX United States
Member since: 11/10/12
Reviews written: 42
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 39
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/5/14 8:08 PM
Last Updated:6/5/14 8:13 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 
Project Photo:PatternReview: 100 by Mmmberry

Pattern Photo:PatternReview 100
PatternReview Pattern Info

More Info provided by Mmmberry

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $9.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag: Digital Patterns  
Fabric:Ponte Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: (from website description) A PatternReview exclusive, the Summer Street Dress is everything you want in a cool summer dress. Easy to sew, with an optional contrast panel in the front, this kimono sleeve knit dress with a scoop neckline has endless possibilities. Sew as is for a sweet dress that you'll wear everywhere. Lengthen the skirt, and you have a maxi that's right on trend! The Summer Street Dress looks equally cute with sandals or boots. This is the transition piece you've been waiting for. Don't wait! Download it, sew it and wear it today!

Pattern Sizing: I changed the sizes from the first time I made this dress. I made the bust CS, waist CS, and hip CM. I think it looks nicer with the box pleats looking more defined.

My Shape: five feet two inches, bust 34 waist 30 hip 40

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? I still think the neckline is slightly higher than the pattern photo. However if one looks at the other review photos, one can see that most of the necklines are at that position.

Were the instructions easy to follow? yes

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I think I really have a thing for cap sleeves or drop sleeves or whatever they are called. One less thing to sew!

Fabric Used: I used two fabrics. Solid Lightweight Ponte Knit for the bodice, and Abstract Art Plaid ITY Knit for the skirt and pockets. Both from Fabricmartfabrics.com

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I put in pockets.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I already have another one planned. Do you think making another one of these is going overboard? I am planning on making a solid coral bodice and a coral and white polka dotted skirt. I think it would look really nice but I don't want to overdo it. It's just a great dress for the heat.

Conclusion: Originally I was going to make the dress completely out of the ITY fabric but then I remembered I had about three quarters of a yard of teal ponte that I was going to throw out because it wasn't big enough to make anything out of. I am going to have to rethink what I do with my large scraps. This dress is awesome! I think it looks better this way than how I first planned it. However I screwed up on the neckband. I was using a zigzag stitch and got a little crazy. I think I should ask for a coverstitch machine for Christmas ...
Available for sale on PR: $9.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Speech girl said...
Very pretty!
6/5/14 10:10 PM
cleverkitty said...
Great looking dress :)
6/6/14 6:54 AM
VivianZ said...
Very cute dress. Well done!
6/6/14 7:37 AM
Deepika said...
Isn't color blocking awesome. I love the fabrics you chose for this version. And there is no such thing as too many dresses from one pattern. Take a look at some of my reviews if you want ideas on how to hack this pattern for an even different look. Love the pleats.
6/6/14 12:17 PM
ASiverson said...
I love your dress and the fabrics you chose. You are not going overboard making another, and yes, I would LOVE to see it. And I too really, really like the pleats! TFS
6/6/14 2:26 PM
JEF said...
Very pretty.
6/6/14 8:01 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Kwik Sew 2856

photo
by: nowak

Review
Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Buy Now
PerfectFuseTailorUltra Black

PerfectFuseTailorUltra Black

Buy Now