SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5999 (Misses'/Women's Top)

1 more reviews
Viewed 229 times 
Reviewed by:SouthernStitch
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SouthernStitchstarstarstar
LA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 123
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 36 people
patterns reviewed: 80
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/10/14 10:34 AM
Last Updated:6/10/14 10:49 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 
Project Photo:Butterick: 5999 by SouthernStitch

Butterick: 5999 by SouthernStitch  
Pattern Photo:Butterick 5999
Butterick Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Recommend, with Modifications
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
  • Tip: "Crowding" to ease a sleeve cap
  • Current Tags What is a Tag:
    Fabric:Polyester Woven  [See other projects in this fabric]
    Pattern Description:
    Pullover top (semi fitted through bust), has right front pleated into overlapped yoke, shaped hemline, and narrow hem.
    Pattern Sizing:
    XS- 6X, divided as XS to XL and XXL to 6X. I sewed an XL.
    Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
    Yes.
    Were the instructions easy to follow?
    Yes, very easy to follow.
    What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
    Likes: There is no bust dart, and I didn't need one, even after sewing down the pleat. The sleeves eased in perfectly, even with a medium weight polyester. I was able to sew them in flat, like you would with a knit. It's a well drafted pattern. I like the neckline style, with the back yoke.
    Connie doesn't draft overly large shoulders, neck, upper chest or armsyce in the larger sizes. But I can't decide weather the neck is large or if I just need a forward shoulder adjustment. She does draft in for a round upper back, so that does help. It could just be I need a large in the neck. I have narrow shoulders, and they fit well, even in the XL. Next time I'm going to start with a large neck and shoulder.
    Dislikes: The pleat formed a tent in the front. That could have been due to the fabric itself, which was drapey, but at a medium weight. The hip area had way too much ease for me, but my hips are 42", and the XL is for 43-46. Since Connie's patterns tend to have more hip ease anyway, I had to remove a good bit, but that's normal for me.
    Fabric Used:
    Woven poly I purchased from Louise Cutting. Though my fabric was drapey, it's a little on the heavier side. I love this fabric and was determined to make it work.
    Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
    I sewed down the pleat from the top all the way down, and did some fiddling with the hem so I didn't have to re-hem the whole thing. That eliminated the maternity look, but kept the little dip in the hem which I think is cute. You can see the dip in the selfie I took. I can see from the pictures that my tummy has more natural maternity look all on it's own than I thought. Funny how we straighten up and tuck in that tummy for the mirror!
    Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

    Yes, I would, but watch that hip ease, and use a very drapey, and lightweight fabric. A jersey knit might work fine too, or a challis.
    Conclusion:
    I love tunics, and this was very easy to make. I like the fit of the bust and arms and the way the sleeves eased in so much, that this is a keeper pattern. I may do some re-designing, and I'm saving the armsyce and sleeve to use on other patterns.
    Available for sale on PR: $19.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
     
    << Previous      Next >>
    5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
    Maia B said...
    Super review! Very clear to me (as a a total novice at fitting) how this pattern worked for you. Lovely top, beautifully done!
    6/10/14 1:01 PM
    JanyceR said...
    Great top and wonderful review. Thanks for all the details! I am putting this one on my wish list
    6/10/14 1:59 PM
    Michele Lommasson said...
    Very nice review! I love the top on you.
    6/10/14 6:04 PM
    Rhoda K said...
    Good looking top - thanks for the good review.
    6/11/14 8:37 AM
    Carol Mendoza said...
    Love that fabric! Great review too.
    6/13/14 3:39 AM
     
    adv. search»
    pattern | machine | member
            
    10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
    10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

    Register

    Restyling with Exposed Zippers
    Restyling with Exposed Zippers

    Register

    McCall's 5519

    photo
    by: caper81

    Review
    Butterick 7096 (Vintage)

    photo
    by: sugarduck

    Review
    Claire Handbag

    Claire Handbag

    Buy Now
    TROUSER DRAFT - A CD book by Kenneth King

    TROUSER DRAFT - A CD book by Kenneth King

    Buy Now