SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Christine Jonson> 1025 (BaseWearTwo)

38 more reviews
Viewed 1651 times 
Reviewed by:CarolynGM
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About CarolynGMstarstarstarstar
AR USA
Member since: 3/9/03
Reviews written: 122
Favored by: 145 people
patterns reviewed: 116
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/4/05 8:47 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
taylormade said...
Great looking skirt. I have made this years ago! Maybe I should have another go at it....I have plenty of knits. Your looks really nice!
9/27/11 8:44 AM
CarolynGM said...
yes, popoagie, I think we might be similar in frame. I generally use a 33 inch inseam for pants, and I'm 5' 8.5" tall.
12/9/06 4:30 PM
popoagiesmiles said...
Irina, I usually lengthen bottoms by 2-4 inches as well. I think our up and down proportions are similar. Do you mind telling how tall you are? I'm 5'7" with 33" inseams on straight legged jeans (longer on dress pants). My minimum lengthening is usually two inches as well.
12/9/06 2:40 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Irina, thanks for the warning about the upside down piece. I can see why it happened. I am being very careful with mine because of your advice. Thanks so much for sharing this review. Carla
8/22/06 6:33 PM
JDpenelope said...
Beautiful! Glad to hear you didn't have to struggle with the buttermilk. I wonder if the skirt is difficult to walk in, or step up into an SUV in...Your success with this pattern makes me want to try it out!
7/6/05 5:43 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
Fabulous skirt. I've now made the LH flounce three times, and I wear them out in the summer, but there is something about your skirt that looks different: is the flounce tighter? Based on your great success, I may buy this pattern and try it on a knit: all three of my LH's are woven. Wonderful style for you.
7/6/05 9:58 AM
TerB said...
That skirt is a perfect fit. You did a great job.
7/6/05 3:08 AM
CarolynGM said...
Lee Anne -- you are right that this skirt has less waist ease than the LH swing skirt. It has a much more pronounced hip curve. For knits this works very well and reduces bunching at the waist. It wouldn't work so well with a woven.
7/5/05 8:44 PM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
This is your style for certain! Do you think there is less ease in the waist than the Loes Hinse swing skirt?
7/5/05 7:47 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Your skirt looks great on you. Though I don't own a Bernina but Viking your mirror image blind hem stitch is a great idea and will give it try.
7/5/05 7:37 PM
Levone said...
Pretty skirt and fabric. I too love this skirt and have made it up a couple of times.
7/5/05 5:47 PM
mudcat said...
The skirt is nice. Very flattering look on you. It's probably so long because Christine allowed for the shrinkage since she doesn't preshrink the cotton/lycra.
7/5/05 10:33 AM
Izzie said...
Great Skirt! I have this pattern but have never made it up because I always use the KS 3032 pattern. You have convinced me to try this one next time. Thanks for the tip on hemming, I'll try that too!
7/5/05 9:16 AM
bunz said...
Thanks for reminding us abt the reverse blind hem stitich. Pretty skirt and great fit!
7/5/05 9:07 AM
AnneM said...
Good reminder to baste 1st. I really like that skirt on you.
7/5/05 7:26 AM
CarolynGM said...
jlg and Irene -- I like the proportion of this flounce and the fact that this skirt is slightly pegged -- it has a very nice hip curve. I will admit, however, that my LH swing skirt is too long and has too much ease. I bet if I downsized it and shortened it, I would like it better. In fact, I should try this on a too-large swing skirt hanging in my closet.
7/5/05 5:45 AM
jlg said...
Your skirt looks great on you. Like Irene, I want to know what you like better about this skirt. I've not made this because I've made a bunch of the LH swing skirts, but it sounds like I may "need" this pattern also.
7/5/05 5:02 AM
Irene said...
The skirt looks wonderful on you. Can you say why you like this skirt better than the LH swing skirt?
7/5/05 1:58 AM
Twinkster said...
Yes, this skirt does fit you perfectly! You look great in it!
7/5/05 0:07 AM
hongkongshopper said...
REally nice skirt - fits well! Nice fabric.
7/4/05 11:16 PM
MaryBeth said...
Isn't this just the best pattern? Glad you've turned out a skirt that is soooo wow!
7/4/05 9:48 PM
drsue said...
Wow, you look just like the idealized drawings in this skirt.
7/4/05 9:21 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Simplicity 2178

photo
by: e84lt

Review
Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

Buy Now