SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2354 

3 more reviews
Viewed 2044 times 
Reviewed by:Judy Williment
photo

 
 
About Judy Willimentstarstarstar
NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 88
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 64 people
patterns reviewed: 85
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/4/05 11:49 PM
Last Updated:7/4/05 11:49 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 9 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
41 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Twinkster said...
What a gorgeous dress! The lines are so feminine and flattering.
7/5/05 0:03 AM
ladybegood said...
I love what you did with the hem line!
7/5/05 0:41 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Well it looks pretty special to me even in the cheap fabric! Very flattering!
7/5/05 0:52 AM
michellerene said...
This dress looks fantastic on you! The front detailing is stunning... I LOVE 40's designs!
7/5/05 1:00 AM
Irene said...
You look fabulous in this dress. The hemline variation is wonderful.
7/5/05 1:28 AM
Allisonsews said...
How elegant! You can't tell from the picture that the fabric was inexpensive so the dress really looks special as-is!
7/5/05 4:23 AM
jlg said...
Judy, your dress is so beautiful. This looks gorgeous on you. Great job.
7/5/05 4:59 AM
CarolynGM said...
Great dress. I love the pleat/tuck detailing.
7/5/05 6:10 AM
MaryBeth said...
This dress is wonderful and you look great in it!
7/5/05 6:42 AM
Cambric Tea said...
amazing. that is a brilliant dress.
7/5/05 6:57 AM
MarilynB said...
What a beautiful dress. Love the hem. This dress is timeless.
7/5/05 7:01 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Wow! I think I've got to get this one...your shaped hem really pulls it up a notch! Great idea...thanks for sharing it!
7/5/05 7:14 AM
Lisette said...
Your dress is beautiful and you look great in it
7/5/05 7:47 AM
meanjean said...
What a beautiful style and it really flatters your figure. I've been trying to visualize the vintage vogue patterns, and after seeing yours, I'm inspired.
7/5/05 7:55 AM
PegL said...
What a classy looking dress!
7/5/05 8:08 AM
SandraB said...
Wow Judy, this dress is really fabulous. Even though you chose a vintage pattern this dress is very En Vogue.
7/5/05 8:57 AM
Motorposus said...
I think your shaped hem and fabric choice are quite wonderful. It's sort of like Donna Karan fell through a wormhole and landed in 1948. I love vintage, but I especially love wearable, modern interpretations of vintage. Yours is stunning.
7/5/05 9:12 AM
purpleseamstress said...
Absolutely gorgeous in every way.
7/5/05 9:35 AM
drsue said...
It's already special! What a wonderful dress. They really know how to design in those days!
7/5/05 9:42 AM
McKavity said...
Gorgeous dress! Great job.
7/5/05 10:49 AM
sherri2sew said...
Lovely dress. I even like the pleats in the soft fabric. And the shaped hem was an inspiration. Very much a designer dress look!
7/5/05 3:15 PM
Mandolin82 said...
I've had this fabric for a while, I just loved its look. Thanks for the review - I'll have to try to make it soon, it looks great.
7/5/05 3:33 PM
sewsue said...
Your dress lokoks fantastic. Love the hem line.
7/5/05 5:12 PM
Vonnevo said...
Judy, absolutley fabulous, as the girls say :)) Your dress looks more wonderful than the pattern sketch. Your salon clients must be delighted to see you in all these lovely clothes.
7/5/05 6:00 PM
KiwiWendy said...
This is exactly how Vogue should be selling the Vintage Vogue pattern line! A modern & stylish echo of the past.
7/5/05 7:03 PM
Modiste Madness said...
I have loved this pattern and you made the dress beautifully.
7/5/05 7:14 PM
Sharon M said...
Stunning! Love the design on you and love what you did with the hemline
7/5/05 8:49 PM
AnneM said...
Lovely dress. The shaped hem works very nicely with this style.
7/6/05 4:26 AM
ryan's mom said...
Stunning dress!
7/6/05 6:31 AM
Sew it seams said...
Oooh, so pretty! I love the shaped hemline on you.
7/6/05 8:23 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
Beautiful dress, and I add my agreement to all others who like the hemline. Works wonderfully for you. All your work has given you a true designer-style dress. Congratulations!
7/6/05 10:03 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Another great outfit. You look great in this dress. Very flattering.
7/6/05 11:38 AM
PixieCat said...
Your dress is gorgeous! I love the hem and the style. So perfect for you!
7/6/05 3:14 PM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
stunning! Make some more Vintage Vogue lead the way for the rest of us!
7/6/05 6:46 PM
Schnauzer said...
Judy, Your dress is gorgeous!
7/6/05 11:02 PM
Tonya said...
I've had this pattern for a while and am considering pulling it out and making it so I'm glad to find your review. I have a few questions however - is there a lining? I can imagine that a knit wouldn't need a lining, but I can't see that bodice in a silk crepe without one... I like the idea of using a knit in it (maybe a sparkly slinky) but I want to try to make the pattern in the intended fabric. I don't know, maybe the pattern envelope intimidates me too much...
1/15/06 11:50 PM
lciaravi said...
Your dress is just beautiful. I love the color on you. The style is so interesting and classy. Very nice!
1/26/07 4:32 PM
Uhoh said...
I love the dress! I'm systematically trying to sew all of the Vintage Vogue patterns (at least the ones I like) myself! Do you think the pattern would work well for the orphaned silk velvet I have sitting in my stash? It drapes well but still has body, but it can be very finicky to sew.
2/10/07 11:06 PM
LadyLou said...
I've been holding onto this pattern, a little afraid to attempt it. Your review has given me courage, and it will be one of the next things I sew! Thank you!
2/11/07 9:15 PM
Annabelle1091 said...
I would love to see the finished product! I couldn't access the photos!
12/20/08 7:19 PM
Scheri said...
Thank you for your review. I am going to be making this in March 2011 at a sewing retreat. I wish I could see your pictures the links don't work.
2/24/11 10:34 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

LJ Designs 0000

photo
by: Gilberta

Review
WhatNots

WhatNots

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Fan Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Fan Bag Pattern

Buy Now