SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2923 (MISSES' JACKET, TOP AND PANTS)

23 more reviews
Review submitted in Pants Contest 2014 Contest
Viewed 609 times 
Reviewed by:Diahn
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Diahnstar
TN USA
Member since: 6/27/05
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 16 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/15/14 9:05 PM
Last Updated:6/15/14 9:57 PM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 2923 by Diahn

Vogue Patterns: 2923 by Diahn  
Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 2923
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Great Wardrobe Builder
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Pants    
Fabric:Wool Flannel  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: Straight-legged pants has contour waist and side zipper closure.

Pattern Sizing: 4-18. I cut a size 4 in the back and size 6 in the front and sewed 1/2" side seams.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? For the most part.

Were the instructions easy to follow? I really didn't follow them. I tend to mentally plan out the sewing sequence from a logical standpoint and then follow what makes sense to me. Incidentally, it does not match the printed instructions. For example, I sewed the outseams first, inserted the side zipper, sewed the inseams, and then sewed the crotch seam with one leg inside the other.

The instructions don't mention this, but I fused a 1" strip of interfacing along the hip edges on the zipper side to stabilize the curves and to reinforce and smooth out the opening.

Zipper facing

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I love the absence of pleats and darts and waistband, which means less bulk and less work. The invisible side zipper and lack of pockets add to the flattering, streamlined, dressier look.

Fabric Used: Vera Wang fuchsia lambswool flannel. I made my own bias tape binding with Vera Wang emerald silk satin. These pants match the chiffon collar jacket that I made three years ago.

The suit

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I shortened the length by about 5 inches and I narrowed the width by about 2 inches.

Would you sew it again? I would if I needed more pants, but I would rather be sewing dresses and tailored jackets.

Would you recommend it to others? Yes. This is a quick sew without the unnecessary details to weigh you down visually or slow you down sewing-wise.

Conclusion: This pattern is well-drafted and produces great results. The simplicity of the design reads as classy, comfortable, and flattering.

For creativity points, I used my embroidery machine and added some whimsy to the front waist facing.

Back waist facing

More photos on my blog

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ClioBklyn said...
Beautiful fit and great color on you.
6/16/14 3:05 PM
Sewcoastal said...
A beautiful pair of pants to complete your lovely suit.
6/16/14 11:23 AM
DorothyK said...
Beautiful pants - great fit.
6/16/14 11:04 AM
Someday2005 said...
They look really nice, and the fit looks perfect.
6/16/14 9:59 AM
supizoo said...
Beautiful!
6/16/14 9:44 AM
Kayseri said...
The are beautiful pants. The fit is lovely and I'm very jealous of your purple wool. Wow!
6/16/14 1:16 AM
carolynw said...
Perfect fit and great sewing - a winner for sure!
6/15/14 11:59 PM
PeppermintPam said...
Wow! These fit you beautifully, and the construction is absolute perfection. Love the embroidery detail!
6/15/14 9:50 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Kwik Sew 3142

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Kwik Sew 3862

photo
by: Ms. Monica...

Review

Pattern

Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

More Info
SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

More Info