SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2963 (Land's End Knock-Off)

Viewed 1656 times 
Reviewed by:PhyllisC
photo

 
 
About PhyllisCstarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 8/2/02
Reviews written: 202
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 82 people
patterns reviewed: 91
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/9/05 9:51 AM
Last Updated:7/9/05 9:54 AM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Swimwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Budo Bear Designs


Asian Designs
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Steffie said...
Great suit! It looks terrific on you!
7/9/05 10:01 AM
Patti B said...
Wow, it looks great and your alterations all achieved their purpose. Land's End has nothing on you! I like the top fabric too, especially with the black.
7/9/05 10:06 AM
bunz said...
I also like the top fabric. Isn't it amazing how tankinis can work on a "mature" bod!! Did you attach the waist at the waistline or at the bottom of the top piece?
7/9/05 10:24 AM
Julia in NC said...
You have done exactly what I have THOUGHT about doing......because I have a lands end swimsuit similar to this that I wanted to make rather than buy (because of the cost). I think you did a GREAT job. and I bet you spent a lot less, and now you have a pattern you can use again and again. Maybe I'll be so adventurous some day.
7/9/05 10:56 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Great suit and very flattering!
7/9/05 11:45 AM
purpleseamstress said...
Thank you. I'm getting ready to make swimsuits for the DD and I. This is a great review.
7/9/05 11:58 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Amazing knock-off. It looks great. Lands End should be copying your suit, instead of the other way around.
7/9/05 12:10 PM
Jill Giard said...
Phyllis - your suit looks great on you. Nice job. Thanks for a thorough review.
7/9/05 12:24 PM
Pam Z said...
Great looking suit, wonderful fit! I like the top fabric. What fabric did you use for the shelf bra & for tummy control & your sources, please?
7/9/05 3:27 PM
Teri said...
Phyllis, your suit looks great! I am with you, what is with swimsuits costing so much. Good grief, there is not even a yard of fabric in most of them:)
7/9/05 3:40 PM
drsue said...
Great suit! I'm gathering my materials to make some swimsuits myself. I really choke on the RTW prices. Just bought dh two bikinis (three peices each including the skirt) and each was about $150! Needles to say, I'm analyzing them extensively.
7/9/05 3:56 PM
Julia Graham said...
Phyllis, it looks great on you!
7/9/05 4:18 PM
CarolynGM said...
I'm very impressed with the look and fit of your new suit. I used to make swimsuits all the time for me and DD -- I don't know why I stopped.
7/9/05 8:41 PM
PegL said...
Very pretty suit and it looks great on you!
7/9/05 10:09 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I love your suit. I'm in need so thanks for the review.
7/9/05 10:41 PM
AnneM said...
Fantastic job. You should feel good in that suit. It is a flattering style, and I really like the fabrics you picked.
7/10/05 6:32 AM
ryan's mom said...
I love your swimsuit! And I REALLY like yours better than Land's End. Your fabric choice was great for this project.
7/10/05 7:53 AM
Mbarkle said...
Phyllis, I love it. You look fantastic in it.
7/10/05 10:58 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great job!
7/10/05 1:40 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Love it Phyllis, great job! -Ann
7/10/05 1:44 PM
JDpenelope said...
Great knockoff. Looks comfortable! Hope you post the Spandex House version.
7/10/05 11:05 PM
lornakismet said...
Phyllis, this is gorgeous. It is a style that might be kind to me and I like your choice of fabric/color. -LornaKismet (Lorna A.)
5/21/06 1:09 PM
Heatherrique said...
Very flattering on you!
6/27/06 3:37 PM
Nitadee said...
Thanks for your comments. I'v always wanted to try a swim suit pattern and your informative review has given me a bit more courage to give it a try. Thanks again, NitaDee
9/29/07 9:57 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Vogue Patterns 1202

photo
by: SewRuth

Review
Folkwear 219

photo
by: LBH2010

Review
9 inch Bent Handle Scissors

9 inch Bent Handle Scissors

Buy Now
Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern

Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern

Buy Now