SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 1461 (Misses' & Plus Size Tunic)

Viewed 530 times 
Reviewed by:JTink
photo

 
 
About JTinkstar
Member since: 4/20/08
Reviews written: 33
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/13/14 3:53 PM
Last Updated:6/20/14 6:38 PM
Project Photo:Simplicity: 1461 by JTink

Simplicity: 1461 by JTink  Simplicity: 1461 by JTink  
Pattern Photo:Simplicity 1461
Simplicity Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Polyester Chiffon  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: Misses/Women's tunic with neckline and sleeve variations

Pattern Sizing:10-18 with separate pattern pieces for BCD cups(CD and DD for the women sizes)

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? I think it did. I did View C

Were the instructions easy to follow?Yes, after doing the neck treatment once, it's pretty easy to see how it all goes together.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?I liked how easy it was to go together and that it comes with the cup size options. I used the D cup and did an additional FBA. I started with a 10 at the neck an ended up with a 12 at the side seams.

Fabric Used:The blouse in the picture, I used a poly/chiffon type of fabric, but this does well with Challis Rayon and very lightweight linen/blends.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:I made a one inch FBA(I"m a 34DDD). Lowered the bust point an additional inch and depending on what kind of material you are using, that can be a concern. It was a bit low on the challis and this rayon chiffon, but worked well on the linen. I made a one inch narrow shoulder adjustment. Did a one and one fourth inch high round back adjustment(something new I've started ) Raised the underarm one inch(added the same amount to the sleeve under arm). Added 3/8 inch to the back armhole for arm crossing comfort. Brought the waist up one inch. Raised the length about an inch. Added 1/2 inch to the sleeve width(large bicep). I know this sounds like a lot of adjustment, but it's what I do on most tops.

It's a shoulder princess and I love the way it falls. I might bring the bust point back up about a half inch, but at this time, it's easily remedied by just taking in a little bit of the extra in the seam below the bust. I don't want to rock the boat by making too many adjustments in the other direction. I'd rather have a princess bust point that is a bit too low, than one that is too high. The pictures make me look as big as "Ant Eppy's hog", and I probably am(for reference: I'm 5'2 and about 130 pounds), but this blouse really does flow nicely and feels so cool when a breeze happens by. I included a side view, because I want you to see that it doesn't give that tented pregnant look. And believe me with a DDD bust, it could look a lot worse. It has a back seam too and I like that, makes for a nicer fit. The front neck line is almost like a little cowl neck line. You are instructed to not press the front neck, but to hold the iron above it and steam in the soft folds.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I have made 3 off of this pattern already and have plans to make at least a few more. I would recommend it to anyone who wants an interesting neck feature. I can't stand anything up around my neck. Most of my shirts are t-knit V-neck or round necks. I wanted a woven that was easy to wear and had a neck line that was a bit different. I would like to bring the front neck line up about a half inch, but am not quite sure how to handle the band. I guess I would just fold out the amount down the center of the pattern piece.

Conclusion:
I can't remember the last time I felt this comfortable in a pull over woven top. It's not perfect, but neither am I . I might post more pictures of the others I did on the "Woven summer top" thread. I have very little shape so didn't expect this top to make me look like I had one. What I like is that it doesn't cling to my body but also doesn't swallow me up. It's a nice, dressier alternative to t-knits.
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Aixoise said...
Thanks for this informative review. I have this pattern next in the queue and am trying to decide on the right fabric, so your info is very helpful. And your top looks really nice on you.
6/13/14 4:19 PM
FromHeadToFoot said...
Your top looks like it fits very well. I like your fabric choice
6/13/14 6:53 PM
supizoo said...
Your top is lovely on you. Your adjustments have paid off in a top with a really nice line.
6/13/14 7:34 PM
Rhoda K said...
Very nice! I picked up this pattern yesterday so I'm glad to see your review.
6/13/14 7:59 PM
marec said...
What a wonderful blouse...the fit is terrific!
6/14/14 8:59 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Fabulous review! This looks perfect on you! I must go and obtain this pattern. Thanks for all the great detail. One question: Did the sleeves ease in well?
6/14/14 10:28 AM
Sewcoastal said...
The neckline is very pretty, nice blouse!
6/14/14 11:48 AM
JTink said...
Thank you all for the kind words. Southern, I'm glad you asked that. I went back and looked at my pattern. I have actually taken a 3/8" wedge out of the front portion of the sleeve. So yes, after doing that, they went in pretty well.
6/14/14 4:12 PM
JTink said...
Just added a picture of this blouse in lightweight linen. This linen has a type of swiss dot on it.
6/15/14 2:20 PM
TJSEWS said...
These blouses fit you beautifully! Bravo!
6/16/14 9:47 PM
TJSEWS said...
These blouses fit you beautifully! Bravo!
6/16/14 9:47 PM
frame said...
Nice. Good fit.
6/20/14 9:34 PM
Skratchie said...
I've been looking at this pattern for a while, trying to decide if I wanted to try it. I think, based on your review, I will. Thanks for the review, and the tops look great!
7/21/14 2:21 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Kwik Sew 3199

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2009-128

photo
by: ManiMayor

Review
Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

Buy Now