SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1203 (Tank Top and Shell)

6 more reviews
Viewed 1518 times 
Reviewed by: LoriB
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About LoriBstarstar
AE GERMANY
Member since: 4/23/02
Reviews written: 95
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 71
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/23/02 5:41 PM
Last Updated:8/23/02 5:42 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Lori, Thanks especially for warning that the front and back are different lengths. The length difference is a popular style for polos intended to be tucked in, but I agree it's a not-quite-chic look untucked. I've had an eye on this pattern for just the reason you cite--under a yard of fabric to make a top holds appeal when there's just about that much leftover. I am inferring that the armholes/neckline are not faced, can you confirm that? Thanks again for the review!
8/23/02 6:17 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I've made the tank from this pattern, and found that although the front and back are the same length at the side seams (I just checked the shell pattern in the same envelope, and the side seams are the same length on my pattern), there is a tendency for the back to hang lower. In my case, it might be a slightly generous bosom, but I notice that in a number of the pattern photos at the website, the garments seem to hang the same way on the model, and she doesn't look extremely chesty to me. Maybe we need a forward-shoulder adjustment?
8/23/02 6:32 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Yes, the armholes and neckline are not faced, just turned under and stitched.
8/23/02 6:35 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I made this some time ago and the neck was too small to get over my head. I also noticed there was an error with the notches but didn't get an addendum so I had to wing it. I made mine from a light weight cotton woven. I think it would be better in a slightly stretchy knit.
8/23/02 10:17 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Nancy 2 Terrific said...
I just bought a very sheer, hand-dyed silk reminant and thought this pattern would be great for it (only 1 1/8 yds) - but am going to have to line it - any suggestions?
6/2/03 12:46 PM
sprKathleen said...
Thanks, Lori, for sharing your experiences with this pattern. Now I will know what to look out for.
6/18/05 12:26 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Butterick 5811

photo
by: DD1104

Review
Butterick 5824

photo
by: ScaryMerry

Review
Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Buy Now