SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 9771 (Misses Blouse)

27 more reviews
Viewed 305 times 
Reviewed by:tbiskupek
photo

 
 
About tbiskupek
Member since: 6/2/14
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 3
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/16/14 11:08 PM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 9771 by tbiskupek

Vogue Patterns: 9771 by tbiskupek  
Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 9771
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Great Wardrobe Builder
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Silk  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: Semi fitted, bias front and back, pullover with short sleeves

Pattern Sizing:12/14/16

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes but the cowl can be tricky to get right.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? the cowl

Fabric Used: Pure silk bought on a trip to Dubai years ago.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: added extra 1/2 cm to body. In future would also remove allowance for shoulder pads.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Yes would make again.

Conclusion: As I have recently returned to sewing I wanted an easy pattern to use my stash of silks.

Available for sale on PR: $12.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Melwyk said...
Such a simple pattern but it looks stunning with your fabric choice. Really beautiful! (and congrats on posting your 1st review!)
6/16/14 11:12 PM
MrsCharisma said...
GORGEOUS!
6/16/14 11:41 PM
cln said...
I'm working with silk right now, so it's so great that you posted. Great top. Thanks for sharing.
6/17/14 7:28 AM
mchinadoll said...
Very nice, I need a few of these in my wardrobe.
6/17/14 7:41 AM
Foxmollie said...
This is so classy. Just lovely. I am happy you posted this. This is a perfect pattern for using up fabric stash.
6/17/14 8:53 AM
carolynw said...
Really beautiful
6/17/14 11:35 AM
sewtofit said...
Gorgeous color...so simple and elegant.
6/17/14 11:50 AM
1SewSweet said...
Well you did find a great way to use your stash I must say! This is one gorgeous colored top!
6/17/14 8:26 PM
albanysewer said...
Beautiful job! I happened to buy a similar color silk as well as a less expensive cloth for the first run. I am having trouble with the first step where the top is reinforced, though. I don't understand the arrows on the paper pattern. Can you give me some tips on decipering the location of reinforcement? The rest of the pattern looks straight forward but not the first step. Help!
6/24/14 2:22 PM
tbiskupek said...
Hi Albanysewer, the arrows are located on the roll line of the front. I have attached a photo showing them. This is the point where you sew the shoulders and front/back facing together in one step. As its a sharp turn in the sewing line I also reinforced the pivot point with tear away stabiliser and then reinforced with stitching to stop any movement and allowed me to get a clean sewing line on my slippery silk. I have also uploaded a picture of the pivot points. Hope this helps
6/24/14 6:56 PM
albanysewer said...
I see the arrows on the roll line but do they imply start reinforcing at top solid arrow down to partial arrow then pivot? I made this shirt last night (protype) on less expensive fabric than the blue silk I purchased but find there are also bust and shoulder sizing issues that need to be addressed. Also, when sewing the shoulders together it specifies attach back facing to front self facing and sew in one continuous seam which if done would seal the top of the shirt closed. The cowl is tricky but I am going out tonight to get tissue paper to make another pattern and purchase another fabric (not expensive) to trial with adjusted sizes. Thanks for the suggestions and pictures.
6/25/14 1:37 PM
tbiskupek said...
Hi albanysewer, the pivot points in the picture are the points for each of the sizes. As I sewed the size 16 I used the top (solid line) one. To better demonstrate I have uploaded another picture which shows the pivot point I used for size 16 (ignore the other ones) and then I have drawn black lines for the reinforcement stitching. This will be on your seam line 1.5cm. I have also marked where you clip to the pivot once you have done your stitching. Once you have attached your back neck facing to the back you join the shoulder seams and then the front and back facing and this is where you pivot at the point. The clip helps you to manage the turn. The continuous seam refers to the shoulder and facing areas only. This is also the area I used tear away stabiliser on as the fabric can stretch on silk. Hope this makes it all a little clearer.
6/26/14 9:16 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Vogue Patterns 8020

photo
by: CissieW

Review
New Look 6068

photo
by: pajamapart...

Review

Pattern

SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

Buy Now