SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7854 (MISSES'/MISSES' PETITE TUNIC)

11 more reviews
Viewed 419 times 
Reviewed by:ColeenS
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ColeenS
ON Canada
Member since: 7/22/13
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/17/14 5:39 PM
Last Updated:6/17/14 5:43 PM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 7854 by ColeenS

Vogue Patterns: 7854 by ColeenS  
Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 7854
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Current Tags:
Fabric:Linen  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: Tunic

Pattern Sizing:8,10,12. I cut a 10 but I should have cut an 8 although I still would have had to take it in.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?It looks more close-fitting on the envelope. It's really a very large fit.

Were the instructions easy to follow?Yes

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?I like how easy it was

Fabric Used:A very fine, loose woven linen.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made I tried to slim it down by taking in the back and front seams but now that I've seen the pictures, I'm going to take in the side and sleeve seams too. It still looks large to me. I look like Maude. (Anyone remember Maude?)

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I doubt I'll sew it again because it's such a distinctive pattern but I would recommend it as long as you go down at least 1 size, maybe 2.

Conclusion: I wish I'd made a muslin first! (Oh, the times I've said that! You'd think I'd learn!)
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
halleyscomet said...
Cute!
6/17/14 6:12 PM
atymonw said...
Very pretty!
6/17/14 6:14 PM
GoSewGirl said...
Really nice tunic! Thanks for the heads up about the sizing. I've had this pattern in the stash for a while and I'll be sure to size down now.
6/17/14 6:15 PM
SewWil said...
You don't look a bit like Maude! I like the way this turned out.
6/17/14 6:34 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
I think it looks sophisticated and very well made. Your button loops and buttons are wonderful and you look nothing whatsoever like a Golden Girl! I'm working on a project right now using remarkably similar fabric!
6/17/14 6:52 PM
Aixoise said...
It's really elegant. It looks lovely on you.
6/17/14 7:07 PM
Carobo said...
Lovely !
6/17/14 7:12 PM
FromHeadToFoot said...
you are a good sales model for Vogue. I just added this pattern to my wish list.
6/17/14 7:50 PM
margy.64 said...
This has a really flattering shape. Love it.
6/17/14 11:06 PM
Rhoda K said...
I really like this style and it looks so good on you. No, you don't look like Maude ;-).
6/18/14 6:29 AM
Baja Susana said...
Elegant cut, well made, pleasing fabric. You look lovely, yes it could be more form fitting, but Maude, no.
6/18/14 7:04 AM
Wianno Girl said...
beautiful work - the shoulders are wonderfully fit. This looks so elegant - so not Maude!
6/18/14 9:30 AM
supizoo said...
Definitely elegant!
6/18/14 9:59 AM
Mufffet said...
Just lovely. The seaming on this pattern is elegant, and you have chosen just the right fabric and color to show off the styling superbly.
6/18/14 10:12 AM
KarlaB said...
I've been wanting a jacket like this! Your version sells me on this pattern!
6/18/14 12:28 PM
Rairscat said...
Wow! This looks like something Eileen Fisher would sell for $300! Beautiful work.
6/21/14 2:22 PM
kellyt said...
Thanks for reviewing this pattern. I had looked this one up a few months ago and didn't see a review, I have made a muslin, and it dose run big, already recut to size smaller. It looks great on you, and I don't think you look like Maude. I did love her though!
7/1/14 11:02 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
Very elegant piece. I've had this pattern in my stash for years and yours has inspired me.
7/8/14 1:53 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2010-122

photo
by: Deepika

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2013-109

photo
by: cabinbaby

Review
Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Joplin Pullover Pattern

Sewing Workshop Joplin Pullover Pattern

Buy Now