SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2444 (Misses' Dresses)

89 more reviews
Viewed 198 times 
Reviewed by:mnitts
photo

 
 
About mnittsstarstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 10/2/11
Reviews written: 71
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 24 people
patterns reviewed: 71
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/22/14 11:06 AM
Last Updated:6/22/14 11:09 AM
Project Photo:Simplicity: 2444 by mnitts

Simplicity: 2444 by mnitts  Simplicity: 2444 by mnitts  
Pattern Photo:Simplicity 2444
Simplicity Pattern Info

More Info provided by mnitts

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton Eyelet  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Inspired by Project Runway. Misses' Dress sewing pattern with collar and sleeve variations.
Pattern Sizing:
4 - 20
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes.
Were the instructions easy to follow?
I think so, but I chose to do my own thing - see below.
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I love the final outcome. Nothing to dislike really.
Fabric Used:
Cotton eyelet purchased last year in Paris.
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I added about 1.5 inches to the sleeves. I can't stand tight sleeves at the best of times, so forget during hot weather.

I did a 1 inch sway back adjustment.

I omitted the pockets - this meant I didn't follow the provided instructions, which have you sew the front bodice to the front skirt, and the back bodice to the back skirt before sewing the front to the back at the sides. Instead I constructed the bodice (sewing front to back and sewing side seams), constructed the skirt (sewing front and back together at side seams) and then sewing the bodice to the skirt.

I used an invisible zip.

I added 1.25 inches to the length of the skirt, but TBH it was not necessary.

Next time around I would bring the front waist down a tad.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes, I might sew this again. Yes, I recommend.
Conclusion:
I am very pleased I made time to sew this pattern: I can now see why it has been so popular.
I am wearing a slip I made using McCalls 6696 under this dress.
For more pics stop by my blog.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Baja Susana said...
Very pretty and summery
6/22/14 12:00 PM
canei said...
So nice!!!
6/22/14 12:42 PM
SewWil said...
Perfect summer dress!
6/22/14 1:35 PM
LoriMinnesota said...
The fabric is really pretty and it fits you very well! I like the belt and the shoes, too...perfect for summer.
6/22/14 2:09 PM
TJSEWS said...
Love it! It fits you beautifully and it looks so cool and summery. So pretty.
6/22/14 9:53 PM
Darlenesews said...
Nice work. I like this dress. How would you modify or what fabric can you use to make for cold weather.
6/28/14 11:28 AM
mnitts said...
Thanks all. Darlenesews: hmmm, modify for warmer weather...not sure. I don't think you could use a bulky fabric because of the pleats. Maybe a thin tweed, brushed cotton with plaid? Or flannel, and maybe add the high neck and longer sleeves?
6/28/14 2:40 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Vogue Patterns V1183

photo
by: Kamal Ragb...

Review
Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Buy Now