SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 1716 (Misses Top and Dress)

41 more reviews
Viewed 379 times 
Reviewed by:AneliseN
photo

 
 
About AneliseNstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/8/14
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2013
Posted on:6/23/14 0:03 AM
Last Updated:6/28/14 8:10 PM
Project Photo:Simplicity: 1716 by AneliseN

Simplicity: 1716 by AneliseN  Simplicity: 1716 by AneliseN  
Pattern Photo:Simplicity 1716
Simplicity Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Great Wardrobe Builder
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Silk Chiffon  [See other projects in this fabric]
The view I made (view E) is a loosely-fitting top with a cowl neck and similar draping throughout much of the bodice, with short fluttery sleeves.

This pattern calls for a stretch knit, but I really wanted to make it in this beautiful orange chiffon I had. I decided to make a muslin out of a woven fabric first to see if the pattern could be adapted. I made the muslin in a size 12 (I'm usually a size 8-10) to make sure I had enough room to fit in it.

The pattern is actually very roomy. I ended up cutting it back down to a size 10 and still had plenty of room, even though I was using a woven fabric. I suspect I could have made it in a size 8 to begin with without trouble. This particular version was very pretty in my orange chiffon and I see no reason that a stretch is required. Because the pattern is supposed to be so loose-fitting, it is not hard to fit.

The instructions were overall easy to follow. There were a few minor details that I think the instructions overlooked (like tacking the cowl into place once it has been folded over), but overall it was a really easy project.

The shirt turned out really cute. I used it as the top of a sundress. I have pictures of the whole project and how I put it together on my blog! http://anelisemadeit.blogspot.com/2014/06/sunset-dress.html

Update: I posted a tutorial to my blog about how to make a square skirt that exactly matches your waist and length specifications! http://anelisemadeit.blogspot.com/2014/06/diy-customized-square-skirt-tutorial-in.html
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AngelaSews said...
Ooh, what a lovely whimsical dress. So pretty!
6/23/14 0:28 AM
Batik said...
Beautiful. Love the color, the flow, the slip. Amazing!
6/23/14 3:11 AM
supizoo said...
Gorgeous!
6/23/14 5:34 AM
sugarduck said...
What a beautiful, summery dress. That chiffon looks like liquid sunshine in the first photo! ;-) Great job!
6/23/14 8:10 AM
kajero said...
Beautiful dress! It's Amazing. I read your wonderful blog. The details for this dress are fantastic. I would have never attempted anything like this when I was high school!
6/23/14 11:44 AM
PriorPatterns said...
I love your fabric choice! Lovely dress.
6/23/14 11:35 PM
Jodi Lynn said...
Gorgeous dress!
6/24/14 3:27 PM
mmcp said...
It is a gorgeous dress and a fantastic color.
6/24/14 7:32 PM
Gail Lyle said...
You look stunning in your beautiful dress. Simply gorgeous.
6/25/14 7:52 AM
beanchor said...
This is just dreamy! Love the summery color.
6/25/14 5:20 PM
Someday2005 said...
The dress is beautiful as well as the blouse you made.
6/28/14 9:27 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Beautiful color and fabric! Pretty!
6/29/14 9:26 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Simplicity 2593

photo
by: Sandi S

Review
Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Buy Now
Butterick 5559

photo
by: RebeccaMar...

Review

Pattern