SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 1716 (Misses Top and Dress)

45 more reviews
Viewed 436 times 
Reviewed by:AneliseN
photo

 
 
About AneliseNstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/8/14
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2013
Posted on:6/23/14 0:03 AM
Last Updated:6/28/14 8:10 PM
Project Photo:Simplicity: 1716 by AneliseN

Simplicity: 1716 by AneliseN  Simplicity: 1716 by AneliseN  
Pattern Photo:Simplicity 1716
Simplicity Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Great Wardrobe Builder
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 Pattern Details
Fabric:Silk Chiffon  [See other projects in this fabric]
The view I made (view E) is a loosely-fitting top with a cowl neck and similar draping throughout much of the bodice, with short fluttery sleeves.

This pattern calls for a stretch knit, but I really wanted to make it in this beautiful orange chiffon I had. I decided to make a muslin out of a woven fabric first to see if the pattern could be adapted. I made the muslin in a size 12 (I'm usually a size 8-10) to make sure I had enough room to fit in it.

The pattern is actually very roomy. I ended up cutting it back down to a size 10 and still had plenty of room, even though I was using a woven fabric. I suspect I could have made it in a size 8 to begin with without trouble. This particular version was very pretty in my orange chiffon and I see no reason that a stretch is required. Because the pattern is supposed to be so loose-fitting, it is not hard to fit.

The instructions were overall easy to follow. There were a few minor details that I think the instructions overlooked (like tacking the cowl into place once it has been folded over), but overall it was a really easy project.

The shirt turned out really cute. I used it as the top of a sundress. I have pictures of the whole project and how I put it together on my blog! http://anelisemadeit.blogspot.com/2014/06/sunset-dress.html

Update: I posted a tutorial to my blog about how to make a square skirt that exactly matches your waist and length specifications! http://anelisemadeit.blogspot.com/2014/06/diy-customized-square-skirt-tutorial-in.html
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sue Parrott said...
Beautiful color and fabric! Pretty!
6/29/14 9:26 AM
Someday2005 said...
The dress is beautiful as well as the blouse you made.
6/28/14 9:27 PM
beanchor said...
This is just dreamy! Love the summery color.
6/25/14 5:20 PM
Gail Lyle said...
You look stunning in your beautiful dress. Simply gorgeous.
6/25/14 7:52 AM
mmcp said...
It is a gorgeous dress and a fantastic color.
6/24/14 7:32 PM
Jodi Lynn said...
Gorgeous dress!
6/24/14 3:27 PM
PriorPatterns said...
I love your fabric choice! Lovely dress.
6/23/14 11:35 PM
kajero said...
Beautiful dress! It's Amazing. I read your wonderful blog. The details for this dress are fantastic. I would have never attempted anything like this when I was high school!
6/23/14 11:44 AM
sugarduck said...
What a beautiful, summery dress. That chiffon looks like liquid sunshine in the first photo! ;-) Great job!
6/23/14 8:10 AM
supizoo said...
Gorgeous!
6/23/14 5:34 AM
Batik said...
Beautiful. Love the color, the flow, the slip. Amazing!
6/23/14 3:11 AM
AngelaSews said...
Ooh, what a lovely whimsical dress. So pretty!
6/23/14 0:28 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

PerfectFuse Medium Black

PerfectFuse Medium Black

More Info
Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD

Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD

More Info
Simplicity 2437

photo
by: LM2HYD

Review