SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5716 

2 more reviews
Viewed 250 times 
Reviewed by:Melwyk
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Melwyk
ON CANADA
Member since: 8/7/13
Reviews written: 50
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 50
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/25/14 9:42 PM
Last Updated:6/25/14 9:47 PM
Project Photo:Butterick: 5716 by Melwyk

Butterick: 5716 by Melwyk  Butterick: 5716 by Melwyk  
Pattern Photo:Butterick 5716
Butterick Pattern Info

More Info provided by Melwyk

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 Pattern Details
Fabric:Polyester Woven  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
"Loose-fitting, pullover mock wrap blouse has raised neckline, shoulder pads and above elbow or long sleeves." Pattern from 1990.
PR Pattern Photo is not this pattern; Butterick has reused this pattern number.

Pattern Sizing:
12-14-16 (I made View A)

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Sort of. My busy print obscured some of the design lines.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes, super easy, even with the unusual neckline and a bunch of pivoting to get it put together...

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I really loved the flowing look and the pleated neckline. Didn't like the idea of giant 80s/90s shoulder pads...had to change that.

Fabric Used:
Polyester woven from the stash.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
None. Except for minor resizing at the shoulder seams to account for not using shoulder pads.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I quite liked this vintage-styled pattern. I will make it again, I'm sure -- it is truly fast & easy, as claimed, and was such a comfortable fit. If you come across this one in your pattern hunting, I'd recommend it as an easy, well made design.

Conclusion:
This was a lucky find, and one of the first times I've actually gone back and made an older pattern out of the many I own...I like it.
Blog info on this make


Available for sale on PR: $19.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
TJSEWS said...
Love how it came out! Fabulous.
6/26/14 10:00 PM
Melwyk said...
Thanks everyone, such nice comments! I was really pleased by the way this pattern looks current when made up (sans shoulder pads!)
6/26/14 9:46 PM
supizoo said...
Lovely modernising of the pattern. I love the neckline.
6/26/14 8:34 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
It really is a very pretty blouse. It doesn't look a bit dated. I supposed because you styled it in a very up to date fashion. Thanks for a lovely review.
6/26/14 5:01 PM
TresBienMichell said...
Way to take a classic pattern and make it into something modern and gorgeous! Your blouse is beautiful.
6/26/14 1:11 PM
oldsewandsew said...
Really a nice blouse - love the neckline!
6/26/14 12:56 PM
Melwyk said...
MNBarb, I think I do need another... Sue, thank you!
6/26/14 11:01 AM
Melwyk said...
toshiba, you've got to go back and grab it! So easy for such a nice result.
6/26/14 11:00 AM
Sue Parrott said...
This is really pretty! Great work!
6/26/14 8:41 AM
MNBarb said...
I thought I recognized the artwork of that 80's era Butterick pattern. I love the no-gap feminine neckline and the draping of the soft fabric. You might need another one of these in your wardrobe!
6/26/14 6:31 AM
toshiba said...
Darnit! I came across this pattern at the thrift store yesterday and decided against it. Now I've gotta go back and find some fabric as fabulous as yours. Looks great!
6/25/14 10:38 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Butterick 6520 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Ottobre Design 06-2009-02

photo
by: Elizabeth ...

Review
PerfectFuse Medium Black

PerfectFuse Medium Black

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Gathering apron Pattern

Buy Now