SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1385 (Misses' Top)

8 more reviews
Viewed 317 times 
Reviewed by:Carol Mendoza
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Carol Mendozastar
LA USA
Member since: 5/1/06
Reviews written: 29
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 24
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/25/14 10:38 PM
Last Updated:6/26/14 7:35 AM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 1385 by Carol Mendoza

Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 1385
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton- Lawn  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: MISSES' TOP: Loose-fitting top has raised neckline, darted neckline and sleeves, narrow hem and partially stitched hem on sleeves.

Pattern Sizing:Combinations: (A-B-C-D-E-F-G-H-I-J) All sizes in one envelope.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?Yes it did

Were the instructions easy to follow?Very easy if you make all the marks since there are so many darts. I paid to watch the video from Sandra Betzina for this pattern. She gave a few more tricks on the video that were not in the instructions. It can be found at her website Power sewing

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?I loved the darts in the collar.

Fabric Used:I used a Liberty Cotton that I purchased while in London a few years ago. I'm not sure this busy print was the best for this top, but the weight of fabric was perfect.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:I made no alterations other than my usual narrow shoulder adjustment.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I will sew again in a solid so that the darts show more.

Conclusion: a really great pattern that was well drafted by Sandra Betzina. I love her patterns! Give it a try, it is actually easy but gets great results!
I don't know why my photo is sideways and looks squished when clicking on it! I used my iPad to take the picture and post, maybe that is why?
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SouthernStitch said...
You did a great job iwth the symmetry of the print. I have this pattern, thanks for assuring me it's easy!
6/26/14 7:59 AM
carolynw said...
Looks really nice and thanks for the review - have been putting this off as being way too time consuming/difficult but am glad to see this isn't necessarily so. Great match with the print.
6/26/14 10:18 AM
LoriMinnesota said...
What a pretty blouse! I love the neckline...very unique. LOVE!!
6/26/14 12:53 PM
oldsewandsew said...
Very Pretty blouse - Love that neckline - I have this pattern = guess I'll have to get it made up!
6/26/14 1:01 PM
LoriMinnesota said...

6/26/14 1:30 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
It looks beautiful. Very lovely indeed. Thanks for a good review.
6/26/14 4:57 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2011-119

photo
by: tsedai

Review
Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Buy Now
Summer Tote

Summer Tote

Buy Now