SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 6026 (Misses' Top)

8 more reviews
Viewed 534 times 
Reviewed by:PattyE
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About PattyEstarstarstar
Member since: 9/7/10
Reviews written: 95
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 94
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/26/14 4:29 PM
Last Updated:6/27/14 4:03 PM
Project Photo:Butterick: 6026 by PattyE

Butterick: 6026 by PattyE  Butterick: 6026 by PattyE  
Pattern Photo:Butterick 6026
Butterick Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 Pattern Details
Fabric:Linen  [See other projects in this fabric]
Edited 06.27.14 to add pic: on me

Pattern Description: Fitted top has collar, collar band, front pin tucks, shaped stitched hemline, front longer than back.
I made view A which is the sleeveless option.


Pattern Sizing: 8 - 24 My envelope was 8 - 16 and I made the 10. Bust measurement on the tissue for size 10 is 35.5, waist is 34.5. No hip measurement on the tissue. I have a 34 bust, 28 waist, 37 hip. I think the fit is spot-on for a fitted top. I will post a modeling shot in the next couple days.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes it did.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, very easy....all basic techniques in this pattern.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I love the pin tucks and the way they shape the top.

Fabric Used: This is a very springy linen that has been in my stash for 5 years. I bought it at a little fabric store in town which has now closed. It was so wiggly when sewing I had to use the tissue paper method to sew the tucks. It pressed beautifully and I was able to get a decent point on the collar.
Suggested fabrics are linen, broadcloth, chambray, stretch wovens.

Pearl snaps are from Snap Source and these are the Hot Pink in 16. I cushioned the pearl snap with a couple layers of muslin during installation because they will crack.

I used Perfect Fuse Sheer interfacing (Palmer Pletsch...it really is sheer after fusing) in black for the collar and band.

Thread is So Fine 50 from Superior.


Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I didn't change a thing.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Yes I will sew this again. I would like to do at least one in the sleeved version.
I would recommend this pattern for beginners on up as a great little top with some cute detail.

Conclusion: I am envisioning this in silk dupioni and have the perfect fabrics in my stash to choose from. Yay!
I love this little top. The pin tucks are a really nice detail.


Available for sale on PR: $19.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
BlueSkysAhead said...
Very pretty top. Love the pink linen.
8/20/14 11:15 AM
MNBarb said...
Very helpful review with good photos. I love your version of this top!
8/14/14 10:19 PM
threaddy said...
WOW!!!
7/7/14 9:11 PM
marymary86 said...
What a super cute blouse (and beautifully sewn)!
7/5/14 5:49 PM
marec said...
This is very lovely and I cannot wait to make it myself. Your snaps are terrific.
6/27/14 11:48 PM
STARG said...
Beautiful blouse. I have the pattern in my stash and can't wait to make it. Thanks for the review.
6/27/14 11:05 PM
Barbara V said...
Your version and color are fantastic. I can't wait to sew this pattern.
6/27/14 10:29 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
I love the details on this pretty blouse. It reminds me very much of the tucks on the popular Butterick 5559 dress. Definitely have to try this pattern. Thanks for bringing it to my attention.
6/27/14 8:14 PM
Dilliander said...
Beautiful... in every way
6/27/14 6:42 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Beautiful blouse. Great color and thanks for the details.
6/27/14 6:00 PM
MrsCharisma said...
Love it. And the color is sweet!
6/27/14 4:21 PM
Wino said...
Looks great! It looks so nice in linen. Can't wait to try this pattern.
6/27/14 2:58 PM
VivianZ said...
Beautiful blouse in beautiful color. Snaps, what fun. A little western edge.
6/27/14 7:59 AM
BillieJean said...
Beautifully done! A real winner.
6/27/14 5:48 AM
Sue Parrott said...
Very cute! I also made this top but forgot to review it! It fits well and is unique!
6/26/14 10:20 PM
TJSEWS said...
Oh it's gorgeous and I love the color!
6/26/14 9:55 PM
SewWil said...
I love the pin tucks! Nice touch using the snaps.
6/26/14 9:45 PM
Campbell said...
Beautiful top and I love the color.
6/26/14 9:05 PM
carolynw said...
Looks great - love your collar points! Nice colour.
6/26/14 7:11 PM
cleverkitty said...
Impressive blouse :)
6/26/14 6:01 PM
LoriMinnesota said...
Very nice...I love the pin tucks! Great color!
6/26/14 5:46 PM
FreyaStark said...
A gorgeous colour, beautiful work and an articulate review. Thanks for that tip about tissue paper and pin tucks.
6/26/14 5:33 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)

Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)

More Info
Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern

More Info