SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Using regular thread for serging

Viewed 7100 times
Posted by: khurtdvm
photo

 
 
About khurtdvm starstar
Member since: 8/6/04
Reviews written: 141
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
tips added: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/27/06 11:48 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
I want to match my serger threads as much as possible to the sewing thread used. With basic colors, that's not a problem (white, black, etc.), but beyond that, I can't find serger thread to match the sewing thread. So I use regular sewing thread in the serger. So far, I've just used it in the needles, but as I get more adventurous with my serger, I'll be using it for the loopers, too. (The needles don't take as much thread and can be used from bobbins, but the loopers will need full spools.)

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
MarilynB said...
I usually use serger thread in my serger, but occasionally if I want a better match, I will use left-over sewing thread. I have never had a problem and it is a good way to get rid of smaller quantities of thread on my thread rack.
4/14/06 1:12 PM
cowgrlsews said...
Depending on what you are stitching on, you might want to consider that serger thread is normally 2 ply, where regular sewing thread is 4 ply. This will tend to make your seams a lot thicker, that is one reason that sewing garments or quilts on your sewing machine with serger thread will save you some money, but your seams will not be very strong, and will either come open at the most inopportune times or your quilts will tend to come apart sooner than you would want. Hope this helps.
4/14/06 2:37 AM
khurtdvm said...
My serger's manual says that any thread wound in a parallel fashion on the spool (like regular thread) can be used BUT you have to use the spool caps over the spool to make it unwind correctly. Forgot to put that into my review.
3/29/06 12:52 PM
Diane Franklin said...
I've used all kinds of threads in my serger--serger thread, regular thread, old thread, new thread and have almost never had a problem. I've used sergers for over 25 years and have rarely had a problem. If an occasional thread doesn't work, I replace it with another and all is usually well.
3/28/06 10:46 PM
DolphinDancer30 said...
I used to use regular thread in my serger until it jammed and resulted in a timing repair. The repairman said it had to do with the way regular thread is wound on the spools. This technique may be OK for some brands of sergers and not others. I'm just reporting what the repairman told me. Since then, I've stuck with serger thread.
3/28/06 10:22 AM
FloraNature said...
The finer and softer the thread the better it forms the looping round the fabric, I find. I use fine cotton sewing thread from a boot sale bargain find (US: garage sale?) along with overlocking (serger) thread.
3/28/06 5:39 AM
Mufffet said...
All I have used in my serger is regular thread. It can get pricey I guess, if you use the serger a lot.
3/27/06 3:17 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Couch Caddy

Couch Caddy

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.