SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Sticky Sponge Saves Mess

Viewed 5153 times
Posted by: j222b
photo

 
 
About j222b
CA USA
Member since: 12/28/04
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 5/7/06 8:10 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I fold about six inches of packing tape around old dry sponges. Sticky side out. Experiment with what you can lay the sticky dry sponge on: tile, wicker, and many pieces of fabric are OK. One I keep near my sew machine for the many threads I cut while sewing (the threads stay put and do not fly to the floor), one I keep near my sofa where I hand sew (especially nice to stick threads on the sponge or dab-dab the small threads that collect on fabric during a serger “rip” session), one I keep in my closet to dab the hairs and threads that collect on my clothes every night, one I keep in my coat closet for the hairs and threads on coats and one in my bathroom for the hairs that collect on the floor! When one side is filled up, I turn over. when both sides are filled I slip the sticky tape off the sponge and discard the tape. Often I have to replace these little sticky dry sponge tape wraps several times a day, but I think they are worth the time and bother to make them b/c I have fewer threads and hairs flying about. If you do not have packing tape handy, try this: wrap enough scotch tape around an old sponge to have a sticky width of about two inches.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
ginaT said...
Thats a great tip.I have always wrapped scotch tape round my hand after a sewing session and look like a mad woman dabbing my hand all over the place a sit grows lol!
5/8/06 7:24 AM
said...
love your idea about the pants & "T" top patterns!
5/9/06 8:04 AM
Sew it seams said...
This is a good tip and very timely. I started doing this (or a version of it) while sewing the many items for my DD's wedding. I discovered the lint tape roller comes in very handy to keep beside my ironing board where I do most of my ripping, and I also carry it to my sewing machine area. Your suggestion for making them out of sponge and packing tape is handy because you can have several of them. Thanks.
5/9/06 10:54 AM
redsquid said...
Excellent idea - I've used packing tape for years to de-catfur my furniture, but I never thought to use it for thread and scrap pick up.
5/12/06 1:03 PM
IOM315 said...
I never thought of using a sponge with tape for smaller jobs. To clean threads from my cutting tables I wrap wide tape (sticky side out) around old fabric tubes. This allows me to roll the tube across my cutting tables to pick up threads and fibers left behind from cutting.
6/22/06 12:57 PM
SewVeryTall said...
What a great tip! I've wrapped masking tape around my hand for this purpose, but having it around an old sponge for instant usability, and several sponges around the house, is much better. Plus I just bought 2 giant rolls of wide packing tape. Thanks!

Now what I can't figure out, is why I didn't see this tip in May '06!!! Thank goodness tips show randomly on the right side of various windows, reshowing them, like this one did today :)
10/25/07 4:11 AM

 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Pattern (JC313MD)

Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Pattern (JC313MD)

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.