SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > HEMMING A FLARED SKIRT EASILY AND NEATLY

Viewed 5982 times
Posted by: Danielle
photo

 
 
About Danielle
MD USA
Member since: 5/10/03
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 5/24/06 6:10 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 5 people   
TO DO A CLEAN NARROW HEM ON A FLARED SKIRT WITH GODETS,(I do not have a serger to do a rolled hem):
1) overcast with a narrow zigzag to prevent fraying and to keep edge neat.
2)Use Stitch Plus (with the untreaded sewing machine, go around the hem pressing hard against the back of the foot). This produce a plisse edge that I am careful not to stetch out of shape.
3)Carefully baste the narrow edge, folding about 1/4"to 3/8" . This is quite PAINLESSLY done.
4) I used a row of straight stitching to hasten things up on my summer skirt, but you may prefer to hand hem for a more finished look
PS: I use the same technique to insert sleeves or any curved edges

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
ConnieLK said...
It is a great tip. Would have liked pics though.
12/20/06 3:22 PM
Rosiemdosie said...
What is stitch plus if I may ask?
8/22/06 12:51 PM
Maliboo_Barbie said...
That easing/pressing thing never works for me. I just get into trouble that way, trying to tell the feed dogs and presser foot to ignore what's natural. ;-P I don't think it's a real technique, I think it's designed to fool us newbies into jamming our fabric into the feed dogs!
7/10/06 1:40 PM
AnneM said...
Oh - "untreaded" looks like a typo for "unthreaded". I was going to ask where you were sewing, but you aren't - you are simply adjusting the flare to that it can fit to the slightly narrower fabric above it, after being folded over. Neat idea. I used steam recently to do something like this, but that only works with certain fabrics.
6/10/06 9:08 AM
threebabygirls said...
This is technique looks great for applying a tiny hem, but you might wish try to see if there is a rolled hem foot available for your sewing machine. My Janome came with a rolled hem foot, and the feet might be interchangeable with other machines (they fit my Brother and I know the manufacturer makes several brands of sewing machines.) This foot has a curlycue in front that curls the raw edge just as it sews it down, and it's very easy, and does a neat, tiny and quick hem. I made cording for the waist band with it also. Just a thought...
6/3/06 10:36 AM
Danielle said...
Dear MrsPenguin, (love the name...). The name of the technique described comes from Sandra Betzina I believe. While "stitching" with the unthreaded machine, keep your index finger on the back of the presser foot, pressing hard towards yourself. The fabric will still go through but will wrinkle. Try it , it is truely wonderful. It is great to ease one longer piece onto another or to deal with difficult to handle curved edges. I hope this will clarify.
5/26/06 5:42 AM
mrspenguin said...
I'm interested in this tip but don't quite understand #2. What is Stitch Plus? and what do you mean go around the hem pressing hard (on what, with what?). Thanks for clarification.
5/25/06 4:49 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern

SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern

More Info
SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.