SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Make a cutting table

Viewed 6242 times
Posted by: Elaray
photo

 
 
About Elaray starstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 4/20/05
Reviews written: 164
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 23 people
tips added: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/20/06 6:17 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 17 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
I'm very happy with the cutting table I made two years ago. I needed the table to fit over a twin sized bed. I used a hollow core door, two sawhorse kits using 1x6's (to attach to the door) and 2x4's as the legs. My personal twist on the design involved the length and placement of the 1x6's. The long 1x6's allowed me to place the legs far enough apart to straddle the bed. When I need the bed for a guest, I can remove the sawhorse legs and lean the tabletop between the bed and the wall and it looks like a daybed. One drawback: due to the size it takes two people to dismantle the table.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Sewdesire said...
If I didn't already have an excellant cutting table (made for me by my husband), I'd use this idea. It's very clever.
12/7/06 5:06 PM
frame said...
This is very clever and useful.
11/23/06 8:52 PM
vasallese said...
I like it, too. It's amazing how creative we can be. Have fun sewing!
6/22/06 12:04 PM
ginaT said...
Great idea! Your so like me,when needs must lol!
6/22/06 8:07 AM
countrybug said...
great tip. I like it, if my children ever leave home and I have a spare bedroom!! ;)
6/21/06 9:52 AM
LauraM62 said...
I really like it! If I get a spare room, or get rid of one of the kids - lol - I'll remember this one!
6/21/06 6:51 AM
annsew65 said...
You know what they say about "necessity being the mother of invention"! You've proved that one right! Love your table! Very ingenious!!
6/21/06 5:41 AM
regine said...
This looks like a very efficent cutting table, well done.
6/21/06 5:18 AM
martinanne said...
What an ingenious use of space! I am impressed.
6/21/06 4:28 AM
Sewnla said...
What a clever idea, thanks for sharing it.
6/20/06 8:57 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee

Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee

Buy Now
Petite Plus V202 VHS

Petite Plus V202 VHS

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.