SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Joining elastic without overlap

Viewed 5604 times
Posted by: khurtdvm
photo

 
 
About khurtdvm starstar
Member since: 8/6/04
Reviews written: 141
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
tips added: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/24/06 11:36 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 19 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I'm sure this is known to many, and it's probably even listed in the tips somewhere - I just haven't seen it. I heard about this awhile back and it's become my favorite method to join elastic when using it in a casing.

Instead of overlapping the edges of your elastic and zigzagging to join, butt the edges together, with a piece of ribbon or something non-stretchy behind the joining area. Zigzag the two ends together, catching the ribbon in the zigzag stitches. Then trim the ribbon ends to the top and bottom edges of the elastic. You have less bulk with this than with the overlap.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
inkyannie said...
I like this idea! Think I'll do that on a pair of pants I am getting ready to make.
6/25/06 0:08 AM
Lilibet said...
I love this technique for joining elastic. I have left over bias binding in bemsilk which make a nice flat join.
6/25/06 0:10 AM
Patzee said...
Thanks for the tip!
6/25/06 0:49 AM
Monica G said...
thanks for the tip. waistband elastic does bulk up rather thickly
6/25/06 8:38 AM
BjP said...
As one who uses elastic waistbands on every skirt I make, this is a great tip and one I'll begin using immediately! Thanks!
6/25/06 1:04 PM
brrmm said...
great idea thanks. Will use this when sewing elastic onto swimsuits.
7/3/06 1:21 AM
bunz said...
Instead of ribbon, I fuse a scrap of fusible interfacing behind the butted seams, then zz them together!
7/30/06 7:01 PM
regine said...
Very good idea, thanks a lot.
7/23/07 9:22 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Pendleton Dress Pattern (ln8002)

Sew Chic Pendleton Dress Pattern (ln8002)

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.