Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Adding SA to traced patterns (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5228 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 13 people   
Posted by: Sewliz
photo
Friend of PR
About Sewliz star
CO USA
Member since: 6/22/04
Reviews written: 40
Favored by: 20 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/27/06 6:48 PM
Last Updated: 1/17/10 4:18 PM
Web site/URL: photo
I actually enjoy tracing my Burda magazine patterns. It's interesting to see the shapes and how they fit together. But then there is the tedious adding of the seam allowance to all the pieces. I had to find a quick and painless way to do this dreaded chore!

First I trace the patterns using sturdy tracing paper that is really easy to see through.
Then I place the traced patterns face down on a large sheet of transfer paper (dressmaker carbon) and use the double tracing wheel to mark a seam allowance. One wheel I keep on the seam line and other wheel marks the seam allowance.
The result is this.

Transfer paper can be found at Greenberg and Hammer.

The method is quick enough to keep me happily tracing patterns. The transfer paper works well for marking fabrics so this would work with the swedish tracing paper or pattern ease too. I do wish there was a better double tracing wheel around, the Clover one is a bit wonky to use. Any thoughts on that?
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nancywin said...
I read someone else's tip about rubberbanding 2 pencils together with a shim of cardboard between them to get the desired width. Where did you get the wheel? I've been looking for a double wheel. Nancy's notions used to carry them, but not any more.
8/28/06 0:30 AM
Sewliz said...
I got the double wheel at Greenberg and Hammer when I got the transfer paper. It is a Clover double tracing wheel, I had written Dritz in the tip but fixed my error. I see that vougefabricsstore.com and createforless.com have them. I like Clover tools usually, I just wish this one was a little nicer to use.
8/28/06 8:24 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Where can you get the dressmaker's carbon?
8/28/06 10:53 AM
OP Gal said...
Thanks for the tip, especially the part about the double tracing wheel.
8/28/06 11:46 AM
Brine said...
Sewliz, Sullivans makes a seam tracer that consists of two pencils joined top and bottom (they are inserted in holes in a plastic holder) that allow you to add a 5/8" seam allowance. I have used it, and it does work satisfactorily, although you do have to be careful that the penc il that adds the seam allowance is kept parallel to the pattern edge to keep the seam allowance width constant. It does, however allow you to trace your pattern and add the seam allowance in one step.
8/28/06 1:58 PM
Reyna said...
I'm new at this and am planning to trace a ready-to-wear garment onto tracing paper I bought two days ago. Through your question and others responses, I learned to double a pencil when tracing...THANK YOU!
8/28/06 4:59 PM
librarylady said...
I tried this today and it works beautifully. Many thanks.
8/28/06 7:21 PM
Sewliz said...
The transfer paper is from Greenberg and Hammer, where the link goes for that item above. I agree that the double pencil type thing is a quick way to trace and add seam allowance, but I often trace to check the pattern shapes and alter before I add seam allowance.
8/29/06 8:06 AM
morazan said...
A newbie question for you: does this dressmaker's carbon wash off the fabric? I.e. can I use it for marking darts and such?
8/29/06 12:04 PM
Winifred said...
I just add the seam allowances as I cut out the pieces ! Is there anything wrong with this approach - I'd be glad to hear. It works well for me and simplifies the whole thing.
9/10/08 5:15 PM
carolbee said...
Does Greenberg and Hmmer have one?
4/21/12 10:23 PM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us