SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Matching drawstrings

Viewed 5115 times
Posted by: pjrsews
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About pjrsews star
KS USA
Member since: 8/24/03
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/29/06 4:45 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 6 people   
I was making a pair of pants the other day in a not quite olive/ not quite brown shade. I really like drawstrings but despaired of finding anything remotely matching. It dawned on me that embroidery floss comes in about any color of the rainbow. Sure enough, 3021 was just the ticket. I bought 3 little packages (24 cents each) and crocheted the 3 strands together with a 3.25 crochet hook. I finished the ends with a knot.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Kathy_AZ said...
What a great idea! Thanks.
8/29/06 5:05 PM
mamacita said...
This is quite possibly the best tip of the year. THANK YOU!
8/29/06 11:54 PM
Irene Q said...
Excellent idea! And I have a large stash of embroidery floss, too!
8/30/06 12:09 PM
cathy45 said...
What a totally cute and practical solution!
8/31/06 10:49 PM
utz said...
Great tip. Only being slightly familiar with crocheting, may I ask what stitch did you use? Did you do a chain, using 3 threads together?
9/1/06 6:46 AM
pjrsews said...
Hi Utz, yes I did use a chain stitch.
9/1/06 10:16 AM
dreamdesigner said...
I don't crochet either - think I know what a chain stitch is, but a picture would be sew helpful! Thanks!
9/1/06 9:57 PM
pjrsews said...
Hi, dreamdesigner, I found this tutorial which might be of some help. Most crochet books also give basic chain instructions. Hope this helps. http://www.crochetme.com/tutorial_ch.html
9/2/06 10:33 AM
kbcs682 said...
Great idea! I crochet but you could also braid or knot the strands together.
9/2/06 9:58 PM
barbcl said...
Fantastic idea. I like drawstrings but don't really like those little skinny sewn ones. Thanks.
3/28/07 7:29 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Buy Now
J Stern Designs Khaki Pants Pattern

J Stern Designs Khaki Pants Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.