SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Matching drawstrings

Viewed 5154 times
Posted by: pjrsews
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About pjrsews star
KS USA
Member since: 8/24/03
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/29/06 4:45 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 6 people   
I was making a pair of pants the other day in a not quite olive/ not quite brown shade. I really like drawstrings but despaired of finding anything remotely matching. It dawned on me that embroidery floss comes in about any color of the rainbow. Sure enough, 3021 was just the ticket. I bought 3 little packages (24 cents each) and crocheted the 3 strands together with a 3.25 crochet hook. I finished the ends with a knot.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
barbcl said...
Fantastic idea. I like drawstrings but don't really like those little skinny sewn ones. Thanks.
3/28/07 7:29 PM
kbcs682 said...
Great idea! I crochet but you could also braid or knot the strands together.
9/2/06 9:58 PM
pjrsews said...
Hi, dreamdesigner, I found this tutorial which might be of some help. Most crochet books also give basic chain instructions. Hope this helps. http://www.crochetme.com/tutorial_ch.html
9/2/06 10:33 AM
dreamdesigner said...
I don't crochet either - think I know what a chain stitch is, but a picture would be sew helpful! Thanks!
9/1/06 9:57 PM
pjrsews said...
Hi Utz, yes I did use a chain stitch.
9/1/06 10:16 AM
utz said...
Great tip. Only being slightly familiar with crocheting, may I ask what stitch did you use? Did you do a chain, using 3 threads together?
9/1/06 6:46 AM
cathy45 said...
What a totally cute and practical solution!
8/31/06 10:49 PM
Irene Q said...
Excellent idea! And I have a large stash of embroidery floss, too!
8/30/06 12:09 PM
mamacita said...
This is quite possibly the best tip of the year. THANK YOU!
8/29/06 11:54 PM
Kathy_AZ said...
What a great idea! Thanks.
8/29/06 5:05 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern

Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.