SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Vizqueen, Pink Sharpie & Rubbing Alcohol

Viewed 5172 times
Posted by: Gladys
photo

 
 
About Gladys star
FL USA
Member since: 8/18/04
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/10/06 8:55 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 5 people   
I purchased some plastic sheeting 3 ML (also referred to as Vizqueen) to use as tracing paper after reading this tip on PR and was marking the plastic with my pink sharpie (another tip on PR) when I realized that I made a big error in the tracing. At first, I thought I would throw out the vizqueen and start again but then I decided to try some rubbing alcohol to remove the sharpie markings from the plastic and it worked! So, not only does alcohol remove it from rulers, it also removes it from the plastic.

Another good reason to use this vizqueen is that my favorite patternweight (my cat) had an unfortunate "hairball" accident right on top of my pattern but since it was the vizqueen and not paper, it wiped right up with no damage.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Susan M said...
Thanks for the info. I needed the reminder on alcohol and sharpie pens. This will save me a lot of grief.
9/10/06 1:47 PM
jessika said...
How funny about your cat haveing the hairball. My cat loves when I'm cutting out a material piece to sit on what i'm doing and give it love as though he's helping me. Cats are intresting. Thanks for the tip.
9/10/06 2:39 PM
christine A said...
That is too funny about your cat. Thanks for the tip.
9/10/06 4:28 PM
kathi s said...
Great tip- your cat reminds me of one we had. When he had to "gak" up a hair ball he run for our Navajo rug which seemed to have some sort of charm for him.
9/11/06 1:43 AM
Patti B said...
Great! Glad it didn't disolve the plastic. I already use the alcohol to clean gunk off serger blades, now there's another sewing use for it.
9/11/06 9:57 AM
Merry G said...
What was the pink sharpie tip...I missed that one...maybe you could post it again...thanks sew much
9/11/06 8:02 PM
Gladys said...
Patti B, it did not dissolve the plastic - maybe due to its thickness (3ML). Merry G, I just liked the pink better than a basic black and maybe it ended up being easier to erase, don't know - it's definitely prettier!
9/12/06 5:36 AM
Nancywin said...
Thanks for the rubbing alcohol tip. Why is it that cats love to sleep on our sewing?
9/13/06 11:52 PM
carolrv said...
I have been using alcohol to remove sharpie markings on food containers for a long time. I know, I should be writing on masking tape to label my tupperware! But many times I am impatient...
7/22/10 9:10 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.