SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Easy marking patterns

Viewed 5229 times
Posted by: ConnieLK
photo

 
 
About ConnieLK
Member since: 12/20/06
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 12/20/06 2:58 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people   Very Helpful by 18 people   
Featured in the PR book!
One of the best ways I have found to mark darts, button placement, etc. is to use a hole punch. You just punch a hole in the pattern at the place where you need to make a mark. Then you can make a dot with your chalk through the hole without ever shifting the pattern.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


11 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Donna H said...
It goes to show you that some of the most difficult jobs can be accomplished with "no brainer" type answers! Thanks.
12/20/06 5:33 PM
ryan's mom said...
Great idea!!!
12/21/06 6:19 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
I, too, have used this method of marking. I wonder why the pattern companies can't do this when they make the patterns???
12/21/06 10:55 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
Mary, the pattern companies used to do this; I remember that time long ago...Maybe it's cheaper for them now to not do it.
12/21/06 11:44 AM
Kim Winson said...
Brilliant. Wish I had thought of it. Thanks!
12/21/06 7:46 PM
said...
I'm going to give that a try!
12/27/06 2:28 PM
Cera said...
I do this as well, I find it a very effective way to mark. The pattern companies used to this years ago, all my vintage patterns from the 1930's have punched holes, which enabled the sewer to mark with chalk, or tailor tack easily. I use an awl to punch tiny holes, working like a charm!
1/11/07 5:14 PM
LindaMM said...
Great tip! Thank you!
1/20/07 11:59 PM
Janime said...
I must be more of a conformist than I thought. I thought of doing something like this at one point and decided that there must be some reason I shouldn't. So thanks for the tip, and for reminding me that it's perfectly right to follow those "outside the box" notions.
1/24/07 1:33 PM
Jewell said...
What great common sense!!! Can't wait to try this!
1/29/07 7:12 PM
ryansmumAria said...
This works well! Before I punch a hole, I cover it with clear tape which makes it easier, then I fold the pattern in half and punch it half way only.
8/12/07 5:13 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.