SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Ribbing [alternative] for sleeve wrist

Viewed 5418 times
Posted by: SewVeryTall
photo

 
 
About SewVeryTall starstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 3/2/04
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 63 people
tips added: 68
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/25/07 8:19 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 33 people   
Web site/URL: photo
I made a fleece 'house jacket' some time ago, for winter evenings at home, but didn't wear it much, because it wasn't as warm as a sweater. The reason...it let cool air go up my sleeve at the wrist. One easy solution...a cuff or band made from ribbing, on the wrist.

I didn't have any ribbing that would look good with the red fleece, but I suddenly remembered a pair of fuzzy red socks I'd worn once, then threw in the back of a drawer, because they were too small for my feet.

I cut the ribbed top off of the sock, and sewed a 3-step zigzag stitch about 1/2" from the cut edge [.5mm length, 4mm width], to stop the knit from running. Then I trimmed close to the stitching.

Last, I attached the cut edge to the bottom of the sleeve, stretching the ribbing to match the sleeve edge. I used a narrow zigzag stitch [2mm length, .5mm width]. This really looks more like a normal straight stitch, but allows for a little stretch.

The adult-size socks were the perfect size for adult wrist ribbing. Child-size socks would be the perfect size for children's wrist ribbing. I used the full length of the sock's ribbing, then when wearing, turned it back to form a cuff.

I just love the way this turned out [see photo link above], and that I'm getting some use out of the like-new-but-ten-year-old socks. I just realized...I have a sock stash! :)


<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


23 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Kathy_AZ said...
What a clever idea!
1/25/07 9:52 AM
Rhoda K said...
Great idea!
1/25/07 3:13 PM
regine said...
That is so clever - thanks for the great tip
1/25/07 3:19 PM
carolynw said...
Great idea
1/25/07 5:57 PM
OP Gal said...
How clever! Thanks for a great tip.
1/25/07 8:16 PM
Donna H said...
This is a really great tip. Thanks Ardis. I would never have thought of it and yes, I too, have a sock stash!!! I could replace some old cuffs on sweatshirts with color matching sock cuffs. Again, great idea! Thanks
1/25/07 10:15 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Lordy girl - you just crack me up with all of your wonderful ideas. This is truly a great one. Love it.
1/25/07 11:13 PM
Andee said...
Oh Yeah! great idea.
1/26/07 7:47 AM
Lorna C. Newman said...
As a mother of 2 who are have socks with holes in the toe, this gives me a great supply of rib cuffs! GREAT IDEA!
1/26/07 8:52 AM
fatbaby said...
This is an awesome idea. Thanks sew much. I have used ribbed tanks and cut them to "fill in the"v" of a shirt when it is cut to deep into my chest area...ughh who wants to see a size "a cup" cleavage! heheh
1/26/07 9:10 AM
krystalkaes said...
Clever!
1/26/07 9:43 AM
Linda G said...
You are so resourceful....I like your thought process....
1/26/07 10:02 AM
Heidi H said...
I just heard about this a week ago, great idea, don't tell my daughter, she is making shirts for our dogs and they need ribbing and I don't have any LOL
1/26/07 12:04 PM
Cloud9 said...
Love it, love it, love it. You are most resourseful, Ardis. I, too, have a stash of socks that now can be put to good use. Years ago I bought ready-made cuffs (only came in black) by Dritz but, sadly to say, Joanne's and Hancocks no longer sells them. I sewed them on to the sleeve lining of all my coats and jackets--what a difference in warmth of the coat with the cuffs added. Thank you again, Aridis.
1/26/07 1:38 PM
AnneM said...
Since the bottoms of socks wear out before the tops, this is a great recycling idea.
1/26/07 2:02 PM
Jackie M said...
Ardis, you crack me up. What a great idea! You find great ways to reuse things for your sewing projects. Waste not, want not!
1/27/07 0:01 AM
frame said...
Very clever.
1/27/07 6:48 PM
Alice near Atlanta said...
WOW! Now I know how to finish off that fleece robe fabric that I was going to make before Xmas. That was the part that I hadn't figured out. S0---I think I'll check out Dollar Tree for really cheap socks and maybe find complimentary colors for the three unsewn, lol, Christmas presents. I'll be looking for your other posts to this site.
1/28/07 12:21 PM
Sherry said...
What a miraculous idea! That is a keeper.
1/30/07 3:04 AM
woggy said...
Great idea - could probably add this type of ribbing to the top of fleece booties - which I plan on doing!
2/5/07 11:59 AM
DSJG said...
Great idea to use socks for ribbing ribbing & I thought your bird having a mini quilt was one of the cutest things I've ever heard.
9/1/08 9:28 AM
Rainer said...
Great idea ! Pic isn't showing up tho..big red x for the pic now.
11/11/12 11:07 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Paradiso Designs Kimono Jacket Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Kimono Jacket Formula Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.