SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > knit pattern not on fold

Viewed 5185 times
Posted by: mssewcrazy
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About mssewcrazy star
MS USA
Member since: 3/4/03
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 2 people
tips added: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/4/07 7:55 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 8 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I made a permanent pattern to use over and over with a few changes for a knit top from a rtw one that I liked and wore out. The first one I cut I was amazed at how much faster I could cut them out since I did not have to fiddle with folding the fabric evenly. Also on larger sizes you have to be sure not to fold too much out or you will not get the front and back out of the width. I think from now on I will make a full size pattern for anything I will repeat from knits or fabric that slides about. For someone using a basic pattern for children or adults that will be made repeatedly such as jammies or tees, give it a try. You won't be fighting with wide big pieces of fabric any longer to cut out your pieces.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


11 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
ClareinStitches said...
What an excellent tip! I have been contemplating making some more T.s, but have been deterred by just how fiddly this is going to be. The lovely fabrics are a soft and wriggly slinky and an even softer net. They both shift in the breeze and get caught on your fingers! I'll be Very happy to give this a go. Thankyou for posting.
4/5/07 5:38 AM
Denise said...
I don't understand the "folding" comments (fold evenly, fold too much). Nor do I understanding "getting the front and back out of the width. I am very novice, may be my inexperience. Don't understand how copyign RTW patterns results in not woring with big pieces of fabric.
4/5/07 6:15 PM
dollieo said...
I'm with Denise i to don't get it. I have read and reread but i still don't understand. MSSEWCRAZY maybe if u could explain in a different way. Thank-you.I love sewing t-shirts and any help to make it easier and faster is for me.
4/6/07 9:39 PM
tweedcurtain said...
I think mssewcrazy is saying she makes full width patterns for front and back of her top, so she does not have to fold the fabric in half and then cut out half a front or half a back on the folded fabric. she lays the pattern right out in full and cuts out a complete front or back on a single layer of fabric. This would aid in print motif placement, too. No big roses on the bust, for instance!
4/6/07 9:47 PM
dollieo said...
Thank-you Tweedcurtain now that i understand.
4/6/07 11:12 PM
Rhoda K said...
Thanks Tweed for translating. I had to read this thru a couple times to be sure I understood, too. Great tip mssewcrazy!
4/7/07 8:06 AM
wheezie said...
I had thought about making a template for my favorite pattterns, but can't come up with something suitable ( like a flexible plastic. My husband made me templates for different sized pillows but the plastic he used wouldn't be practical as it's too rigid. If anyone has an idea as to where one could buy sheets of soft flexible plastic I'd love to hear it.
4/7/07 10:54 AM
mssewcrazy said...
I am sorry for not posting more quickly but the grand is staying for an extended visit. Tweed Curtain is correct - I just made full pattern pieces for the front and back instead of having to fold the fabric and laying the normal half size piece on there. To me knits or nylon are a pain to fiddle with especially if you have a large piece of yardage to fold evenly and exactly to the size you need without waste. As for something large to cut the pattern from, you can use a cheap plastic tablecloth or shower curtain if you wish vinyl or an old sheet for fabric if you do not have tracing paper or cloth. this wide. There are some really cheap plastic throw away table cloths that some use for this purpose. Once I get a basic pattern perfect, I cut it out of something for permanent use besides paper.
4/9/07 7:47 AM
wheezie said...
mssewcrazy - thanks so much for that tip - I'm on my way to the $$$ store. I've often thought about doing it your way - but my mind simply closed down as to method and a medium for doing it. For some reason - I have no problem with wovens - but knits, folds and me just don't seem to be able to get together successfully and your method might just be the solution. Thanks again for the suggestion.
4/10/07 11:33 AM
dollieo said...
I have tried this method and it work great.No twisted front or back, hung beautifully. Thank-you so much for the great tip mssewgrazy. I love this site. So informative.
4/12/07 9:20 AM
AnneM said...
Another advantage of this tip is that it makes using print fabrics much easier, since you can cut with the entire print facing you.
4/15/07 11:34 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop 8th Avenue Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop 8th Avenue Skirt Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.