Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
knit pattern not on fold (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5086 times
Review rated Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 8 people   
Posted by: mssewcrazy
photo
Friend of PR
About mssewcrazy star
MS USA
Member since: 3/4/03
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/4/07 7:55 AM
Featured in the PR book!
I made a permanent pattern to use over and over with a few changes for a knit top from a rtw one that I liked and wore out. The first one I cut I was amazed at how much faster I could cut them out since I did not have to fiddle with folding the fabric evenly. Also on larger sizes you have to be sure not to fold too much out or you will not get the front and back out of the width. I think from now on I will make a full size pattern for anything I will repeat from knits or fabric that slides about. For someone using a basic pattern for children or adults that will be made repeatedly such as jammies or tees, give it a try. You won't be fighting with wide big pieces of fabric any longer to cut out your pieces.
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ClareinStitches said...
What an excellent tip! I have been contemplating making some more T.s, but have been deterred by just how fiddly this is going to be. The lovely fabrics are a soft and wriggly slinky and an even softer net. They both shift in the breeze and get caught on your fingers! I'll be Very happy to give this a go. Thankyou for posting.
4/5/07 5:38 AM
Denise said...
I don't understand the "folding" comments (fold evenly, fold too much). Nor do I understanding "getting the front and back out of the width. I am very novice, may be my inexperience. Don't understand how copyign RTW patterns results in not woring with big pieces of fabric.
4/5/07 6:15 PM
dollieo said...
I'm with Denise i to don't get it. I have read and reread but i still don't understand. MSSEWCRAZY maybe if u could explain in a different way. Thank-you.I love sewing t-shirts and any help to make it easier and faster is for me.
4/6/07 9:39 PM
tweedcurtain said...
I think mssewcrazy is saying she makes full width patterns for front and back of her top, so she does not have to fold the fabric in half and then cut out half a front or half a back on the folded fabric. she lays the pattern right out in full and cuts out a complete front or back on a single layer of fabric. This would aid in print motif placement, too. No big roses on the bust, for instance!
4/6/07 9:47 PM
dollieo said...
Thank-you Tweedcurtain now that i understand.
4/6/07 11:12 PM
Rhoda K said...
Thanks Tweed for translating. I had to read this thru a couple times to be sure I understood, too. Great tip mssewcrazy!
4/7/07 8:06 AM
wheezie said...
I had thought about making a template for my favorite pattterns, but can't come up with something suitable ( like a flexible plastic. My husband made me templates for different sized pillows but the plastic he used wouldn't be practical as it's too rigid. If anyone has an idea as to where one could buy sheets of soft flexible plastic I'd love to hear it.
4/7/07 10:54 AM
mssewcrazy said...
I am sorry for not posting more quickly but the grand is staying for an extended visit. Tweed Curtain is correct - I just made full pattern pieces for the front and back instead of having to fold the fabric and laying the normal half size piece on there. To me knits or nylon are a pain to fiddle with especially if you have a large piece of yardage to fold evenly and exactly to the size you need without waste. As for something large to cut the pattern from, you can use a cheap plastic tablecloth or shower curtain if you wish vinyl or an old sheet for fabric if you do not have tracing paper or cloth. this wide. There are some really cheap plastic throw away table cloths that some use for this purpose. Once I get a basic pattern perfect, I cut it out of something for permanent use besides paper.
4/9/07 7:47 AM
wheezie said...
mssewcrazy - thanks so much for that tip - I'm on my way to the $$$ store. I've often thought about doing it your way - but my mind simply closed down as to method and a medium for doing it. For some reason - I have no problem with wovens - but knits, folds and me just don't seem to be able to get together successfully and your method might just be the solution. Thanks again for the suggestion.
4/10/07 11:33 AM
dollieo said...
I have tried this method and it work great.No twisted front or back, hung beautifully. Thank-you so much for the great tip mssewgrazy. I love this site. So informative.
4/12/07 9:20 AM
AnneM said...
Another advantage of this tip is that it makes using print fabrics much easier, since you can cut with the entire print facing you.
4/15/07 11:34 AM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us