SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Clothes Closet Hangar Turning

Viewed 5152 times
Posted by: Donna H
photo

 
 
About Donna H star
WA USA
Member since: 9/29/05
Reviews written: 32
Favored by: 11 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/13/07 4:39 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 9 people   
With much encouragement, I'm posting this actual non-sewing tip. But...like mentioned, this tip has the potential to leave you with much more room in your closet for the clothes you are sewing.

I recently read this tip on HGTV, so I can't take credit for it alone.

In your closet, turn all your clothes hangars backwards with the hook facing you. Then as you wear an item and rehang it, face the hangar back towards you as normal.

After a season, you'll be able to tell what you wear and what you might want to get rid of.

Simple, I know. But it works!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Tailypo said...
That is brilliant! What do I do about the clothes tossed on the floor in a fit of anguish? ;)
9/13/07 5:21 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Tailypo, do what I do. Walk on them.
9/13/07 5:48 PM
Susan M said...
Love the humor. You can put those in a bag and send them to Salvation Army. That way you won't have a fit over those clothes again and you will have room for those you sew. Great Idea!
9/13/07 6:22 PM
ryansmumAria said...
what a great idea
9/13/07 10:57 PM
Merry G said...
awesome...thanks...I needed that tip...BAD
9/14/07 9:41 PM
Nancywin said...
I had forgotten about this - thanks for the reminder.
9/14/07 9:53 PM
Sew it seams said...
What a great idea! I'm going to start this today.
9/15/07 11:23 AM
J-Girl said...
My variation: I wear a lot of skirts, so to make sure I'm rotating through my wardrobe I use a decorative hangar (or tie a scarf around a regular hangar) as a divider, and then after I wear a piece it goes to the left. Things that haven't been worn in a while are on the right. If I really, really don't want to wear them, then out they go!
11/2/07 0:54 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Buy Now
Beginner Sewing Lab 102 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 102  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.