SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Expo Reviews > Beading with Kenneth King

New York, UNITED STATES
Viewed 5789 times
Posted by: Mary Cargill
photo

 
 
About Mary Cargill
NY USA
Member since: 8/20/02
Reviews: 3 (expos: 1)
Skill level:Intermediate
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 12/12/07 1:36 PM
Rating: starstarstar
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 8 people   
Web site/URL: photo
The quilt store, The City Quilter, had a one-day workshop with Kenneth King, based on his recent book on beading, Designer bead embroidery : 150 patterns and complete techniques. Basically, I would take a class with Kenneth King if he were teaching making a pant suit out of polyester double knit, but this was an amazing experience. He brought all his samples from the book for us to look at, which was of course fun. But his organization and enthusiam set this class apart. He had all the techniques diagramed on handouts, plus samples, plus demonstrations, plus his clear explanations of why and when these stitches would be used. He was so generous with the kit materials and spent a lot of time going to everyone in the class to see if there were any problems. Anyone who has seen his work knows that he is inspirational, but he is also a simply wonderful teacher.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Sewing Expo Review    Read All Sewing Expo Reviews


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Sewphie said... (2/22/08 0:10 AM) Reply
I agree with all of the above. I have taken moulage, pant fitting, copying rtw, and embellishment with him, and he is not only extremely talented, but very generous with his time and expertise, and funny besides! We miss him out here in California -- move back, Kenneth!
PhyllisC said... (12/13/07 6:21 PM) Reply
I completely agree - Kenneth is very generous with his expertise, and one of the most exceptional teachers - on any subject - that I've ever met.
ryan's mom said... (12/13/07 8:08 AM) Reply
It sounds like it was a wonderful class, Mary!
aunt saidee said... (12/13/07 2:50 AM) Reply
I took a short embellishment class from him when he lived in CA--he is GREAT! I have this book on my wish list with a high priority for Christmas!
krystalkaes said... (12/13/07 1:37 AM) Reply
Thanks for reviewing this class. I have the book and agree the samples photographed are inspirational.
GorgeousFabrics said... (12/12/07 4:22 PM) Reply
Mary, I got the email about this class, and I would have loved to have taken it. He is so funny! AND a great teacher.
Deepika said... (12/12/07 2:10 PM) Reply
He is a great teacher isnt he? Have you taken his handbag classes on PR?
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Understanding Knit Fabrics
Understanding Knit Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Sew Liberated Myla Tank Pattern

Sew Liberated Myla Tank Pattern

Pattern Details
Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)

Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)

Pattern Details

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2015 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.