SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Using a Rowenta Iron

Viewed 6555 times
Posted by: PegL
photo

 
 
About PegL star
MO USA
Member since: 2/18/04
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 13 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/14/08 1:35 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 10 people   
At the risk of starting a lengthy discussion on why people hate their Rowentas and how awful they are, etc., etc . I'm posting this in hopes it will help.

I've had several Rowentas over the last 25 years and I've NEVER had one go bad. I literally wear them out or just decide I want a new one, such as when I got the Professional Steam Generator almost 3 years ago.

There's a procedure for using Rowentas when it comes to adding water and using the steam feature and avoiding leaking or spitting. When I recently purchased a Rowenta Soleplate Cleaning kit there was an excellent brochure included on ''Instructions for Use'' for a Rowenta iron regarding the type of water to use.

This is from the brochure verbatim:

What Water to Use in Rowenta Irons
Rowenta irons are designed to be used with REGULAR TAP WATER (up to 12 grains of hardness). If your water is harder than this, Rowenta recommends mixing half tap water with half distilled water which reduces the hardness. NEVER use 100% pure distilled water since this can cause the iron to spit and leak.

Softened Water
There are many types of household water softeners and the water from many of them is perfectly acceptable for use in an iron. However, some types of softeners, particularly those that use chemicals such as salt, can cause the iron to leak or spit during use. If you experience this type of problem, we recommend that you try using inexpensive bottled spring water. Never use 100% pure distilled water. Once you have changed water it will take several uses to correct the problem. Rowenta recommends trying the steam function for the first time on an old towel or cloth to avoid damaging your clothes.

Iron and Other Impurities
If your water supply contains large amounts of iron or organic matter, these minerals can collect inside the iron and eventually appear as brown stains. If you experience these problems Rowenta recommends using inexpensive bottled spring water. Never use 100% pure distilled water.


I think people will have better luck with Rowenta if they follow the manufacturers instructions. I hope this helps somebody and offends no one. No offense is intended! ;>)

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


15 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Peggy L said...
Interesting stuff! Maybe the well water (hard stuff) combined with the water softener killed my Rowenta. I've been wanting a steam generator so may have to give the Rowenta another try. (now I have even harder well water!!!)
8/24/08 10:41 AM
JDpenelope said...
PegL, A few years ago, I bought the Professional Steam Generator, based on your advice, and love it. Awhile back, I had a problem-- not with spitting -- but with getting enough steam. But then I read your reminder (somewhere on this site) to flush the tank with water, as recommended --every 10 uses. There was a build-up of mineral particles the first time I flushed the tank, but now that I follow this regime regularly, there have been no problems getting plenty of steam. SewVeryTall's advice to empty the tank each night would probably extend the use of this expensive, but wonderful machine, and I think I'll stop being so lazy and follow it!
2/8/08 5:35 AM
Chersews said...
Thanks for the GREAT review. At my house the Rowenta is affectionately know as "THE CADILLAC" and is never circulated with the "common" clothing. He has been elevated to a heavenly relm in the sewing room! (LOL). He prefers lots of love (translation: use) and the finest Walmart bottled water!
2/6/08 12:56 PM
Vicmar said...
THANK YOU for this review. I got one for Christmas and was starting to get a little aggravated. Of course, I had not read the directions which I'm usually obsessive about. Thanks again!
1/27/08 6:39 AM
BettyMike said...
I love my Rowenta iron. I use filtered tap water in both the iron and the steamer. No problems yet and I've owned them both over 2 years.
1/22/08 6:53 PM
Nancywin said...
Well, I was totally agreeing with you until a few days ago. I have only had my Power Duo for about 6 months and in the last week it has leaked the equivalent of half of its water all over my ironing board (while turned off) on 3 separate occasions. I'm so sad because I love my iron and of course, I no longer have the receipt.
1/20/08 10:22 PM
Tonya said...
Thanks for the good info. I bought a Rowenta steam iron at the Atlanta Sewing Expo and have had progressively worsening problems with spitting and was getting pretty disgusted. The water here must not be hard enough - I'll start trying bottled spring water and see if that helps.
1/16/08 11:16 AM
SewVeryTall said...
As the old saying goes...when all else fails, follow the directions! ...hehehe

I have never owned a Rowenta, but my current iron also says to use tap water, NOT distilled water. This is kind of weird, you'd think the more pure the water, the better. One tip I follow religiously, and I think it helps an iron's life, is to always empty the water out of it at the end of the day. We have good tap water, but I'd guess that it is somewhat hard water, so emptying the iron prevents mineral buildup from evaporation. My irons last a long long time [I've only owned 2 in over 30 years...the first one lasted over 20 years], and I credit their long life to not leaving them set with water in them.
1/15/08 4:56 PM

Patzee said...
Very good information. Thanks!
1/15/08 12:49 PM
chrisquilts_2 said...
Just recently I trashed my old iron in favor of the Rowenta Pro. My only complaint is that the Rowenta doesn't get as hot as my old iron. My old iron had the elastic wrapped cord and there was always something thrilling about that cord getting so hot it hurt your hards to unplug the iron!! Not safe, but thrilling...
1/15/08 10:11 AM
ladybegood said...
I don't have a Rowenta, but I think that this is useful info for all irons. Thanks for the tip.
1/15/08 2:52 AM
JanyceR said...
I totally agree. I use bottled spring water in my Rowentas and never have a problem. I did forget this at one point and used tap water, definitely had spitting problems. When I realized that I had been filling it the last few times at the sink instead of the water dispenser, I went back to the bottled water and the problem cleared up.
1/15/08 0:44 AM
jtrl4 said...
I love my Rowenta iron. I found that my iron works the best when I use bottled spring water which I buy in a gallon container. This is my second Rowenta. My first one died after 10 years of constant use but I am not complaining because I like this new model even more.
1/14/08 11:32 PM
Enid E said...
I'm with you. I have never had a Rowenta do anything that so many have complained about. I follow the instructions on the type of water I fill them with and I regularly clean them out as Rowenta suggests.
1/14/08 3:07 PM
crashnquilt said...
I currently have a Rowenta Iron. So far it has lasted longer than ANY previous iron I've owned. I did read in the instructions to use half tap/half distilled. Since using this mixture (knock on wood) I've never had a problem with this iron. Since I live out in the country on "county water system" no telling what all is in the water. I just started using the mixed water to head off any possible problems. I've had this Rowenta for a couple of years now and it gets DAILY use, several hours a day.
1/14/08 2:15 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Paradiso Designs Kimono Jacket Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Kimono Jacket Formula Pattern

More Info
SewBaby Easy to Sew Baby Layette Pattern

SewBaby Easy to Sew Baby Layette Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.