SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > getting a knit binding the right length

Viewed 5229 times
Posted by: mssewcrazy
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About mssewcrazy star
MS USA
Member since: 3/4/03
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 2 people
tips added: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/14/08 3:48 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 14 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I was having trouble getting my self bindings the right length on some of my knit tees as all the knits had different degrees of stretch. Now I have started cutting a strip that is longer than my neck opening rather than measuring and pinning it around the neck stretching slightly as I go around the curves. If the knit has lots of recovery I pull more as I pin in the front ,shoulders and curves. I mark on the strip when I reach the back neck center of the garment and this is where I make a seam and trim the excess. Then I stitch the band on. On mine I roll to the inside,coverstitch and trim but have also stitched in the ditch and trimmed with success. Since I started doing this I have not had any roll to the outside from being too long or pucker from being too tight so it has been a big help to me. Perhaps this is not the best way but works for me so thought I would share it. Best of all I am not having to figure out with each garment how long to cut the strip and messing up my tee or tank.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
JenSews2 said...
Thanks! I'll try this next time!
4/15/08 0:35 AM
fryman said...
I like this straight forward application. Thanks
4/15/08 3:10 PM
Susan M said...
I could visualize exactly what you described. This makes a lot of sense.
4/15/08 3:30 PM
mssewcrazy said...
I hope it helps someone else. Before I started doing this, I was stressing out trying to figure out how many inches or measuring the neck carefully and the amount was still wrong. Now I just cut a strip and start pinning. If a knit has lots of stretch I pull a bit more but if it's stable I pull just a little. I may mess up the next one but so far the self bindings are laying nicely as they should. I have sewed a long time but never fooled with knits a lot until recently.
4/15/08 8:44 PM
chloeE said...
GREAT tip, like that "no measuring thing" thanks!!
4/6/09 12:10 PM
lovenicky said...
Thanks so much. I love sewing with knits but have the same trouble as you with the self binding neck/arm hold. I will try this next time.
12/11/09 8:33 AM
carolrv said...
I haven't been able to find ribbing anywhere in retail fabric stores, so it's self bindings for me. Good tip!
7/5/10 5:42 AM
Patti B said...
Brilliant. You can't always use a formula for binding lengths since the stretch varies so much -- great solution.
10/1/10 9:35 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

PerfectFuseTailorUltra White

PerfectFuseTailorUltra White

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Joplin Pullover Pattern

Sewing Workshop Joplin Pullover Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.