SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > getting a knit binding the right length

Viewed 5170 times
Posted by: mssewcrazy
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About mssewcrazy star
MS USA
Member since: 3/4/03
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 2 people
tips added: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/14/08 3:48 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 14 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I was having trouble getting my self bindings the right length on some of my knit tees as all the knits had different degrees of stretch. Now I have started cutting a strip that is longer than my neck opening rather than measuring and pinning it around the neck stretching slightly as I go around the curves. If the knit has lots of recovery I pull more as I pin in the front ,shoulders and curves. I mark on the strip when I reach the back neck center of the garment and this is where I make a seam and trim the excess. Then I stitch the band on. On mine I roll to the inside,coverstitch and trim but have also stitched in the ditch and trimmed with success. Since I started doing this I have not had any roll to the outside from being too long or pucker from being too tight so it has been a big help to me. Perhaps this is not the best way but works for me so thought I would share it. Best of all I am not having to figure out with each garment how long to cut the strip and messing up my tee or tank.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
JenSews2 said...
Thanks! I'll try this next time!
4/15/08 0:35 AM
fryman said...
I like this straight forward application. Thanks
4/15/08 3:10 PM
Susan M said...
I could visualize exactly what you described. This makes a lot of sense.
4/15/08 3:30 PM
mssewcrazy said...
I hope it helps someone else. Before I started doing this, I was stressing out trying to figure out how many inches or measuring the neck carefully and the amount was still wrong. Now I just cut a strip and start pinning. If a knit has lots of stretch I pull a bit more but if it's stable I pull just a little. I may mess up the next one but so far the self bindings are laying nicely as they should. I have sewed a long time but never fooled with knits a lot until recently.
4/15/08 8:44 PM
chloeE said...
GREAT tip, like that "no measuring thing" thanks!!
4/6/09 12:10 PM
lovenicky said...
Thanks so much. I love sewing with knits but have the same trouble as you with the self binding neck/arm hold. I will try this next time.
12/11/09 8:33 AM
carolrv said...
I haven't been able to find ribbing anywhere in retail fabric stores, so it's self bindings for me. Good tip!
7/5/10 5:42 AM
Patti B said...
Brilliant. You can't always use a formula for binding lengths since the stretch varies so much -- great solution.
10/1/10 9:35 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Buy Now
Gracie Handbag

Gracie Handbag

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.