SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Ultrasuede scrap shoe inserts

Viewed 5452 times
Posted by: Karla Kizer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Karla Kizer starstarstar
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 68
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 81 people
tips added: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 5/8/08 8:02 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people   Very Helpful by 11 people   
From time to time, the subject of shoes comes up on PR, so I feel somewhat justified in including this suggestion.

I have impoverished myself over the years, buying heel guards and various kinds of shoe inserts in an often vain attempt to make a Medium shoe feel like a Narrow or keep my foot from sliding too far forward in shoes and sandals. Sometimes they work, sometimes they don't. When I need just a little bit of beefing up in the heel or under the ball of my foot, ultrasuede is often just the right thickness. I cut it out using Dr. Scholl's (or other brands) as a pattern, tape the ultrasuede in place to check fit and placement, then cement it into the shoe when I know it's where I want it to be. They're cheaper and less bulky than commercial shoe thingies (technical term.) Save those scraps!

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


18 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
cindyann said...
What a great tip! Also a great use of small Ultrasuede scraps. I'm sure the narrow footed gals can use this. Unfortunately, I am of Hobbit ancestry, hairy toes included. Can you wrap ultrasuede tightly around the foot to make it fit into B width shoes? {snicker}
5/8/08 11:05 AM
Karla Kizer said...
cindyann, isn't that what lycra/powernet is for? ;-)
5/8/08 12:19 PM
Sarah J Doyle said...
Great information - something I also need to try. Thanks
5/8/08 5:13 PM
jhansby said...
great idea! Made me think that these would also make nice liners for those shoes that are "sticky" inside...when you don't want to wear hose/socks, they would make the inside nice and soft like a leather/suede lined shoe...
5/9/08 9:10 AM
SusiM said...
good tip! thanks
5/9/08 10:33 AM
jbrewer said...
I agree with Jhansby. I once glued a scrap to go under my heel on a pair of sandals. It prevented that "suction-y" sound that occurs when your bare foot pulls away from the shoe as you walk. Silent feet!
5/9/08 2:28 PM
Patzee said...
Huh. I bet this would work well for dressing up those cheap rubber/plastic flip-flops!
5/9/08 4:59 PM
utz said...
Great tip - from this narrow-heeled gal. Without an insert high heels on me flap up and down like flip flops. I'll use this idea - thanks!
5/9/08 9:43 PM
Linda G said...
Great idea, I find it harder and harder to get narrow shoes.
5/12/08 1:13 PM
jeanharville said...
thanks for such a creative tip. It's a foot saver for me. I too have narrow feet and especially heels. Like you I have spent a fortune trying to make shoes fit. Maybe that's in the past now.
5/13/08 8:51 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Jean, I should emphasize that when you need thick inserts, ultrasuede might not do it for you, though I have successfully used two layers of it in the heel. The reason I like to use it is that it is thin enough to narrow the heel a bit without forcing my foot too far forward in the shoe the way some of the thicker store-bought ones do. Try multiple layers and see if it works for you.
5/13/08 8:41 PM
Boatlady said...
What a handy tip! Thank you. I like the idea of using a sinlge layer inside "sticky" shoes.
5/14/08 5:03 PM
darcidoodle said...
From one skinny foot to another -- thank you SO MUCH!
5/16/08 11:33 AM
SandrineQ said...
Thank you for sharing! What a great and useful idea.
5/20/08 12:37 PM
Cecile Owens said...
Your tip might just do the trick for me. I have a pair or size 7 Narrow shoes that are slip ons and the back part does not stay on my foot when I walk so maybe the ultrasuede will work. Great idea!!! Thanks
5/21/08 2:00 AM
quathy said...
What a great idea! Do you also happen to know if this would prevent socks from falling down?
5/21/08 1:33 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Sorry, Quathy, I haven't a clue.
5/21/08 9:24 PM
OP Gal said...
Hey, I just saw this and it sounds like a winner to me! I, too, frequently find myself trying to force a Medium shoe to fit like a Narrow. Those heel thingies just rub blisters and push my foot further forward, not back, so while they work in theory, they never work in fact for me. This sounds like the perfect solution to my need for something in the back of my shoes to keep the heel from slipping. Once again, you've come to my rescue, Karla. Thanks!
12/6/08 10:05 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.